Physics

Tips on searching for articles

Using the library's article databases is different from doing a Google search. Try some of these techniques to further refine and improve your search results.

(1) Identify two or three main concepts related to your research question.

Use them in your search, rather than typing out a whole string of words. Note your options to search your terms within article abstracts and titles, which will reduce the number of results you get, but often they will be more relevant to your needs.

Scopus database

AIP Publishing database

ADS database

(2) Use the Refine Results options in the left-hand column of the database's results page.

You can limit your results to peer-reviewed (also called "refereed") articles, by article type, publication date, or topic, among other options.

Refine Results options in ADS (Astrophysics Data System). These options appear on your search results page:

Refine Search in Scopus. These options appear on your search results page:

(3) Look at your results for more ideas on how to search.

• Words within some of the titles or abstracts in your results might help you refine your topic.
• Subject terms (also called Topics or Keywords), when available, can help you discover new ways to search on your topic.

Access the full text article by using the link provided in the database. This might look like  or . You might also see  or . See "Get Full Text" and Interlibrary Loan for more.

(4) Keep in mind that research is iterative.

Your thinking will evolve as you learn more about your topic. Pick two or three articles from your initial search to read and then come back to search for more articles to further hone your focus.

Image credit: http://brescia.uwo.ca/library/research/research-cycle/

(5) Librarians are your partners in research!

Your librarians are here to help you succeed. Please reach out at any time in your research process. Find contact information for your Physics librarian, Kirstin Duffin, in the left-hand column of this page.