Need help right now?
Call the Booth Library Research Help Desk when the library is open: 217-581-6072
Chat with a librarian any time of the day or night*: 24/7 chat
*members of our 24/7 chat consortium, including Booth Librarians and beyond, staff this service.
Background information
To find an overview of a topic in Physics or Astronomy, reference resources are a great place to start.
Reference resources are things like encyclopedias or sourcebooks, which provide general information on a given topic in a concise format. Encyclopedia articles are often a few pages long and provide a list of references for further study.
To locate physical and chemical properties, consult a handbook.
Search the Booth Library electronic reference collection in the below box. See, for example, results for particle physics and Galileo.
Search for encyclopedia articles and other reference resources:
Some reference resources for Physics and Astronomy are listed below. Click here for a selection of more reference resources in Physics and Astronomy. Reference books in our physical collection may be found near the Research Help desk on the main floor of the library: view map.
Principles of physics by This resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of physics. Entries are written in easy-to-understand language, so readers can use these entries as a solid starting-off point to develop a thorough understanding of this oftentimes confusing subject matter.
Publication Date: 2016Principles of astronomy by This resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of astronomy. Entries are written in easy-to-understand language, so readers can use these entries as a solid starting-off point to develop a thorough understanding of this oftentimes confusing subject matter.
Publication Date: 2016Principles of physical science by This resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of the Physical Sciences. Entries are written in easy-to-understand language, so readers can use these entries as a solid starting-off point to develop a thorough understanding of this oftentimes confusing subject matter.
Publication Date: 2017Encyclopedia of physical science by Discusses concepts that unify the physical sciences with life, Earth, and space science by examining topics such as natural hazards, global challenges, and the history and nature of science.
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of astrobiology (3rd edition) by
* Clarifies technical terms from astronomy, biology, chemistry, geosciences & space sciences
* Presents new results in key fields, e.g., astrochemistry, exoplanetary systems, & more
Publication Date: 2023
