Science and Math Librarian
Kirstin Duffin
she, her
Need help right now?
Call the Booth Library Research Help Desk when the library is open: 217-581-6072
Chat with a librarian any time of the day or night*: 24/7 chat
*members of our 24/7 chat consortium, including Booth Librarians and beyond, staff this service.
Handbooks
To locate physical and chemical properties, consult a handbook.
A selection of electronically-available handbooks are included below. Find more physics handbooks in our library catalog. For more on chemical properties, see the Booth Library subject guide for Chemistry.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Presents chemistry and physics tables and profiles notable scientists, highlighting their achievements. Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 97th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. The 97th edition of the Handbook includes 20 new or updated tables along with other updates and expansions. It is now also available as an eBook. This reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach.
Publication Date: 2017
Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics by
Comprises a comprehensive reference source that unifies the fields of atomic molecular and optical (AMO) physics, assembling the principal ideas, techniques and results of the field. This book is intended to be both a source of information and inspiration for graduate students and other researchers new to the field.
Publication Date: 2006
Springer Handbook of Lasers and Optics by
This new edition features numerous updates and additions. Especially 4 new chapters on Fiber Optics, Integrated Optics, Frequency Combs and Interferometry reflect the changes since the first edition. In addition, major complete updates for the chapters: Optical Materials and Their Properties, Optical Detectors, Nanooptics, and Optics far Beyond the Diffraction Limit. Features Contains over 1000 two-color illustrations. Includes over 120 comprehensive tables with properties of optical materials and light sources. Emphasizes physical concepts over extensive mathematical derivations. Chapters with summaries, detailed index Delivers a wealth of up-to-date references.
Publication Date: 2012
Springer Handbook of Materials Data by
The second edition of this well-received handbook is the most concise yet comprehensive compilation of materials data. The chapters provide succinct descriptions and summarize essential and reliable data for various types of materials. The information is amply illustrated with 900 tables and 1050 figures selected primarily from well-established data collections, such as Landolt-Börnstein, which is now part of the SpringerMaterials database. The new edition of the Springer Handbook of Materials Data starts by presenting the latest CODATA recommended values of the fundamental physical constants and provides comprehensive tables of the physical and physicochemical properties of the elements. 25 chapters collect and summarize the most frequently used data and relationships for numerous metals, nonmetallic materials, functional materials and selected special structures such as liquid crystals and nanostructured materials. Along with careful updates to the content and the inclusion of timely and extensive references, this second edition includes new chapters on polymers, materials for solid catalysts and low-dimensional semiconductors. This handbook is an authoritative reference resource for engineers, scientists and students engaged in the vast field of materials science.
Publication Date: 2018
Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology by
This comprehensive handbook has become the definitive reference work in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology, and this 4th edition incorporates a number of recent new developments. It integrates nanofabrication, nanomaterials, nanodevices, nanomechanics, nanotribology, materials science, and reliability engineering knowledge in just one volume. Furthermore, it discusses various nanostructures; micro/nanofabrication; micro/nanodevices and biomicro/nanodevices, as well as scanning probe microscopy; nanotribology and nanomechanics; molecularly thick films; industrial applications and nanodevice reliability; societal, environmental, health and safety issues; and nanotechnology education. In this new edition, written by an international team of over 140 distinguished experts and put together by an experienced editor with a comprehensive understanding of the field, almost all the chapters are either new or substantially revised and expanded, with new topics of interest added. It is an essential resource for anyone working in the rapidly evolving field of key technology, including mechanical and electrical engineers, materials scientists, physicists, and chemists.
ISBN: 9783662543559Publication Date: 2017
