Find Articles using Biology Article Databases
On the library homepage choose the Explore by Subject tab. Click on Biological Sciences to find a list of all your relevant article databases.
Start here: Scopus
New to Scopus? Check out this introductory guide: https://eiu.libguides.com/scopus
Use with caution! – The default search box on the library homepage, within the Articles tab, does not include any of the core biology databases, nor any of the specialized science databases. Find core and specialized biology databases here.
Want to expand your skills with using article databases and finding literature in your research area? Make an appointment with your biology librarian to learn advanced search techniques, like using controlled vocabulary and identifying key journals in your field. Contact information is in the left-hand side of this page.
Find Articles with Known Citations
Are you using the Literature Cited section in the articles you're reading to locate additional, relevant articles and books? This is a great way to dig in deeper to the literature on your topic. Use the work of these published experts in the field rather than relying solely on your keyword searches in the article databases.
How do you locate the full text of a cited item? First, identify whether the citation is for an article or a book. (Books often will include a publisher and place of publication; articles will not.) Search for books in the library catalog. If the book is not at Booth Library, try I-Share or WorldCat. (See Request Materials from Other Libraries for more information.)
Use the Citation Linker to locate journal articles by their citation. You may be taken right to the article, or there may be additional steps before linking to the full text. Booth Library may not own the item you are searching for; in that case, you'll have the option to request the article from another library using interlibrary loan.
Questions? Ask a librarian.
