Science & Math Librarian
Kirstin Duffin
she, her
Design an Awesome Research Poster
Working on a research poster?
Here's some advice from the American Journal Experts:
Find more helpful tips for creating research posters in these books:
A select list of books on writing and presenting in the sciences is in the Recommended Reading section of this guide.
Designing Science Presentations by
Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions.
Call Number: Q223 .C325 2013x
Science Poster Design Guide by
Do you want to design a scientific poster that effectively conveys your research results? One that looks professional, and communicates a clear message? This guide provides 8 easy steps towards the creation of such a poster. It will guide you through the idea process and composing your main message, while giving you the tools you need to draft and create the visual design that fits your needs. The 8 steps are easy to implement and are accompanied by examples for further context. This step-by-step design guide provides useful tools, tips and examples for scientists, students and for anyone who has to make scientific posters or science visuals.
Call Number: Q179.94 .J36 2021x
Academic & Scientific Poster Presentation: A Modern Comprehensive Guide by
A modern and comprehensive guide to the medium of poster presentation in the academic and scientific setting, the book provides comprehensive instruction that will help ensure effective poster compilation and presentation.
Each chapter lays out clear objectives that help readers achieve the full potential of poster presentations.
The author provides insight into the theoretical issues involved with poster making, and offers examples of how this theory may be applied in practice.
Call Number: Access ebook here
Presentation Skills for Scientists by
It is now widely recognised that professional presentation skills are an indispensable cornerstone of a successful scientific career. This updated second edition provides a concise and accessible guide to preparing and delivering scientific presentations. Its highly practical 'how-to' style focuses on the issues that are of immediate concern to the busy scientist. The text covers all of the important aspects of scientific presentations, including knowing your audience, producing visual material, controlling nerves and handling questions. It also includes advice on presenting in English for non-native speakers, helping them to improve the clarity and effectiveness of their presentations. Links are included throughout the text to the accompanying website, which contains annotated video clips of speakers delivering a talk and demonstrates the common problems encountered, as well as exercises designed to overcome them. It also contains image files to demonstrate the design issues to consider when creating visual material.
Call Number: Q223 .Z36 2018
A Concise Guide to Communication in Science and Engineering by
Success in scientific and engineering research depends on effective writing and presentation. The purpose of this guide is to help the reader achieve that goal. It enables students and researchers to write and present material to a professional modern standard, efficiently and painlessly, andwith maximum impact.The approach is not prescriptive. Rather, the emphasis is on a logical approach to communication, informed by what needs to be achieved, what works in practice, and what interferes with success. Over 400 examples of good and bad writing and graphing are presented. Each is from a published researcharticle and is accompanied by analysis, comment, and correction where needed. Journal reviewers' critiques of submitted manuscripts are included to illustrate common pitfalls. Above all, this is a "how-to" book, comprehensive but concise, suitable for continuous study or quick reference. Checklistsat the end of each chapter enable the reader to test the readiness of a dissertation, journal submission, or conference presentation for assessment or review. Although oriented towards engineering and the physical and life sciences, it is also relevant to other areas, including behavioural andclinical sciences and medicine.
Call Number: Q223 .F696 2017x
Writing in the Biological Sciences by
"Writing in the Biological Sciences: A Comprehensive Guide to Scientific Communication" serves as a comprehensive "one-stop" reference guide to scientific writing and communication for budding professionals in the life sciences and related fields. The book is designed to function both as a free-standing textbook for a course on writing in the sciences and as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses with writing-intensive components. It covers all the basics of scientific communication that students need to know and master for successful scientific careers. The book lays the foundation for professional writing by starting with basic scientific writing principles and then by applying these principles to lab reports, summaries, and critiques and eventually also to full-fledged scientific research articles, review articles, and grant proposals. Practical advice for organizing academic presentations and posters as well as for putting together job applications is also included.
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2022
