Home
Reference Resources
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of the French and Francophone Civilization and Culture. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.
See this guide for additional selected works held by the library on French and Francophone Civilization and Culture.
- Selected works in French and Francophone Civilization and Culture
Over 70 titles in Booth's collection on French and Francophone Civilization and Culture, organized in thematic sections including:
Francophone World; French Language; French Literature; Francophone Film; Culture and Civilization, French speaking countries; History and Politics, French speaking countries; Fraocophone mucis; French and United States; French Language movies; French language movies, streaming; French language novels; French language music
Reference resources
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats. Booth Library has reference materials in print and online formats.
Several examples of reference books related to French and Francophone Civilization and Culture are listed below.
Countries and Their Cultures
A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.
Call Number: GN307 .C68 2001ISBN: 0028649508Publication Date: 2001
Dictionary of Twentieth-Century French Culture by
One of a series of reference volumes, each examining a cultural period of a particular nation. Culture is used in a broad sense to encompass all the ways in which a people define themselves, including a wide scope of human communication and expression, from advertising to fine art. Entries range from 50 to 1000 words, with between 500 and 1000 entries appearing in each individual volume.
Call Number: DC33.7 .F726 1995ISBN: 9780810384828Publication Date: 1995
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture by
More than 700 alphabetically organized entries by an international team of contributors provide a fascinating survey of French culture post 1945. Entries include: * advertising * Beur cinema * Coco Chanel * decolonization * écriture feminine * football * francophone press * gay activism * Seuil * youth culture Entries range from short factual/biographical pieces to longer overview articles. All are extensively cross-referenced and longer entries are 'facts-fronted' so important information is clear at a glance. It includes a thematic contents list, extensive index and suggestions for further reading. The Encyclopedia will provide hours of enjoyable browsing for all francophiles, and essential cultural context for students of French, Modern History, Comparative European Studies and Cultural Studies.
Call Number: DC33.7 .E53 199ISBN: 0415131863Publication Date: 1998-06-24
Encyclopedia of World Cultures by
A basic reference source to the cultures of the world. Provides descriptions of all the cultures of each region of the world or of a representative sample of cultures for regions where full coverage is impossible, as well as accurate descriptions of cultures of the past.
Contents
V. 1. North America / Timothy J. O'Leary, David Levinson, volume editors -- v. 2. Oceania / Terrence E. Hays, vol. ed. -- v. 3. South Asia / Paul Hockings, vol. ed. -- v. 4. Europe (central, western, and southeastern Europe) / Linda A. Bennett, vol. ed. -- v. 5. East and Southeast Asia / Paul Hockings, vol. ed. -- v. 6. Russia and Eurasia; China / Paul Friedrich and Norma Diamond, vol. eds. -- v. 7. South America / Johannes Wilbert, vol. ed. -- v. 8. Middle America and the Caribbean / James W. Dow, vol. ed. -- v. 9. Africa and the Middle East / John Middleton and Amal Rassam, vol. eds. -- v. 10. Indexes.
Call Number: GN307 .E53 1991ISBN: 081688840XPublication Date: 1991-01-01
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures by
Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures comprises an extensive overhaul of the original ""Encyclopedia of the World's Nations"". It provides concise and objective descriptions of the dominant political, economic, social, and cultural systems of the countries of the world. The encyclopedia features 193 country-by-country surveys in 40 separate categories, as well as tables, charts, and lists that are linked with narrative accounts of each nation's peoples, history, government, society, and culture. This edition includes articles on three additional countries and 14 new sections on culture and society with each entry. Both the text and the extensive statistical data have been fully updated. New coverage includes: East Timor; Marshall Islands; and The Federated States of Micronesia. New sections in each entry include: Culture; Entertainment and recreation; Etiquette; Family life; Flora and fauna; Folklore and mythology; Food; Health; A list of modern rulers; Living conditions; Personal appearance; Science and technology; Sports; and Work.
Call Number: G63 .K874 2007ISBN: 0816063079Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Music Around the World: a Global Encyclopedia [3 Volumes] by
With entries on topics ranging from non-Western instruments to distinctive rhythms of music from various countries, this one-stop resource on global music also promotes appreciation of other countries and cultural groups. Not only for music history and music appreciation classes but also for geography, social studies, language studies, and anthropology. Additionally, general readers will find the books appealing and an invaluable general reference on world music. Examines music from a geographical and cultural viewpoint, allowing students to make cross-cultural comparisons
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781610694995Publication Date: 2020-09-08Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by "Covers history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, rites of passage, and much more for 533 diverse cultural groups in Africa, the Americas, Asia and Oceania, and Europe"--
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781410338969Publication Date: 2017-02-17
- Francophone cultures from the Worldmark EncyclopediaThis example links to the The Worldmark Encyclopedia articles on Cameroonian, Flemish, Congolese, French Canadians, and Louisiana Creole cultures.
