Journals, Newspapers, and Databases
Booth Library has an extensive collection of full-text databases on various subjects and topics. All databases are accessible from off campus as well; just log in with your EIU netID. Think about your topic in terms of keywords, which can either be connected by AND/OR/NOT on the same line, or separated on different lines.
The complete database list is here.
Top Databases
Search results in the databases can be narrowed to provide French language results. The databases listed below will be the most useful in researching the culture and civilization of the Francophone World.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowFull-text article database with broad subject coverage | Area Studies | Ethnic & Multicultural Studies | General Sciences | Social Sciences | Law | Politics & Government | Women`s Studies | Popular Culture | Search Multiple Databases
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowNewspapers | US, Canadian, and International News | Current New York Times & Wall Street Journal | Newswires and News Blogs | Business, Political, Social, Entertainment Topics | 1980 to present.
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive reference for all aspects of music. Over 29,000 articles on music, musical instruments and musicians from the past and present. Oxford Music Online provides the access point for Grove Music. Please LOGOUT when you finish a session so another user may access the database.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles covering the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to present | World history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more | Indexes 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages, back to 1955
- Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowSearch and browse articles from 1700+ full-text journals in the humanities | Literature, visual arts, performing arts, archaeology, area studies, folklore, religion, classical studies, linguistics, and more | Worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly Journal Articles and Book Chapters | Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowCriticism of Authors & Their Works | Fiction | Short Stories | Drama | Poetry | Rhetoric & Composition | Literary Theory | History, Theory and Practice of Teaching Language and Literature | Includes Indexing for Book Chapters and Dissertations in the Discipline
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals and articles | Multi-disciplinary coverage | Includes literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, theater, cultural studies, education, philosophy, religion, political science, gender studies, social sciences, and more
Finding French-language articles
The databases include French-language materials. To limit your search to only French-language articles, use the search options available in the databases.
An example of limiting to French-language articles in Academic Search Complete is below.
An example of limiting to French-language articles in Global Newsstream is below.
Selected Journals
- International journal of Francophone studiesThe premiere bilingual outlet for Francophone postcolonial studies, Francophone Studies is a peer-reviewed, international, interdisciplinary journal that enables extensive opportunities for the study of ‘France outside France'. It promotes groundbreaking research on the fundamental nature of the relationship between colonial history and culture, and postcolonial cultural production. Interests have developed to include the impact of modern French culture in global world culture and the impact of this global culture on French hexagonal culture, and subsequent intellectual, cultural and political developments.
- Études francophonesA refereed scholarly journal devoted to Francophone Studies
The scholarly peer-reviewed journal Études Francophones was founded in 1986 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette in order to provide a forum and to promote research pertaining to the Francophone world, its literatures, arts, and culture. Études Francophones appears twice per year (in spring and fall) except in the case of double issues. Beginning with Volume 26 (December 2011), the journal’s publication has been exclusively electronic with open and free access. Articles are available for download as PDFs. - Nouvelles Etudes FrancophonesNouvelles Études Francophones (NEF) is the official refereed journal of the International Council of Francophone Studies / Conseil International d’Études Francophones (CIÉF). NEF publishes scholarly research in the language, arts, literatures, cultures, and civilizations of Francophone countries and regions throughout the world.
- Alternative FrancophoneLe propos d'Alternative francophone est de repenser la notion de francophonie selon les axes suivants : 1) envisager le français comme langue mineure plutôt que comme langue universelle ou langue d'exception, 2) promouvoir les échanges entre toutes les francophonies, 3) théoriser un postcolonialisme francophone, 4) explorer la diversité des configurations culturelles et identitaires produites dans le contexte francophone, 5) mettre en oeuvre une francophonie de résistance contre les totalitarismes linguistiques et culturels quels qu'ils soient.
- Link to Francophone journal search resultsCatalog search results for journals meeting the criteria of including a subject term: francophone
- PDF list of Francophone journals with links.This list was generated on February 15, 2021.
