Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Find these resources online. More reference sources are available through the Booth Library online catalog and on the 3000 Level, the main floor of the library, near the research help computer lab.
- Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new windowSee especially Chemistry within this database | Covers today's most significant science topics | Offers 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 97th Edition by
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 97th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. The 97th edition of the Handbook includes 20 new or updated tables along with other updates and expansions. It is now also available as an eBook. This reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach. New Tables: Surface Active Chemicals ¿ Table of Properties of the Most Important Surfactants (Solubility, Physical Constants, Critical Micelle Concentration, Hydrophilic-Lipophilic Balance, etc.) Nanomaterial Safety Guidelines ¿ Definition of Terms in Nanoscience; Guidelines for Safe Handling and Disposal Updated and Expanded Tables: CODATA Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants ¿ 2014 values Standard Atomic Weights ¿ 2015 Changes Made by IUPAC Atomic Masses and Abundances ¿ Update of Abundances Surface Tension of Common Liquids ¿ Addition of New Compounds and Updates Basic Instrumental Techniques of Analytical Chemistry ¿ Expansion to Cover Colorimetry and Refractometry Bond Dissociation Energies ¿ Addition of Recently Published Data Photon Attenuation Coefficients ¿ Addition of Absorption Edge Data Classification of Electromagnetic Radiation ¿ Update with Modern Terminology Astronomical Constants ¿ Update with New Recommended Constants Solar System Properties ¿ Updates with Newly Discovered Satellites Interstellar Molecules ¿ Update with Complete List of Molecules Observed to Date Major World Earthquakes ¿ Update through 2015 Atmospheric Concentration of CO2 ¿ Update through 2015 Global Temperature Trend ¿ Update through 2015 Abbreviations Used in the Assessment and Presentation of Laboratory Hazards ¿ Update and Expansion Relative Dose Ranges for Ionizing Radiation ¿ Expansion Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants ¿ Update to 2015 Recommendations Chemical Carcinogens ¿ Update to 2015 Recommendations of National Toxicology Program
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by
1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks. Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology. Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions. Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes. Update on toxicological profiles.
Chemistry by
This is a reference tool, designed to guide the reader through all the aspects of chemistry. Showing the myriad of ways in which chemistry plays a role (both seen and unseen) in our daily lives, this work also makes the foundations of chemistry accessible for the lay reader.
Principles of Physical Science by
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of physical science. This helpful resource provides high school and undergraduate researchers with a solid foundation to begin their study of physical science. The volume begins with a helpful introduction to the field, followed by over 100 detailed entries. Entries range from 1-5 pages in length and include a detailed overview of the topic, written in clear, understandable language. Entries also include key terms, related fields and are further supplemented with photos, illustrations, charts, models and diagrams. Coverage in this volume is diverse, providing helpful guidance to the full spectrum of physical science studies, including: Properties & States of Matter Properties of Elements Chemical Bonding & Equations Gravity Force, Motion & Power Energy Electricity Magnetic Forces Heat & Termperature Nuclear Energy ... and so much more . This volume provides readers with the necessary information to learn about and fully understand the major concepts in physical science. This volume will be a welcome addition to science collections of all sizes.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science by
"Aligned with national science standards and high school science curricula. Covers all major umbrellas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology"--
Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource (2nd ed.) by
Described by Catholic World (2006) as "a treasure trove for beginning literacy" in the disciplines of science, technology, and ethics, the 2005 edition of Encyclopedia Of Science, Technology, and Ethics (ESTE) is being revised to include new analytical and interpretive essays on the events, scholarship, people, and legal decisions that have marked the period since the first edition was researched and published. In addition, to help make ESTE more global and interdisciplinary in scope and reach, the second edition will engage consultants from ethics centers around the world, and will feature the revised title Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource. Highlights of the new edition include an updated glossary and chronology, in addition to scores of new entries, hundreds of revised entries, and more than 300 graphics/images. To be published in four volumes by Macmillan Reference USA, an imprint of Gale/Cengage Learning.
American Men and Women of Science by
This respected resource is a biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available. Volume 8 of the set is a comprehensive index listing scientists by field, and by stale under field.
Annual Reviews in Chemistry
Find current Annual Reviews online and older volumes on the 1000 Level, or first floor, of the library:
Annual Review of Analytical Chemistry
electronic access
Annual Review of Biochemistry
QP 501 .A7 (1932-2013)
electronic access (1997-current)
Annual Review of Physical Chemistry
QD 1 .A732 (1950-2013)
electronic access (1996-current)
Annual Review of Materials Research
TA401 .A7 (1971-1997)
electronic access (1997-current)
