Search for Articles
The core chemistry article databases available via Booth Library are: CAS SciFindern, ACS Publications, and PubMed. Scopus is another useful database and offers additional tools to analyze your results.
Click through the tabs below to access all four resources and view search tips for each.
Have more questions? Connect with your Chemistry librarian (contact information is at the bottom of this page). Individual and group consultations are welcome! For help at any time of the day, use our pop-out Chat box to get in touch with a Research Help librarian.
-
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window*Access to this database requires one-time user registration* Comprehensive Chemistry Database | Journal Articles | Patents | Structure and Substance Searching | Reaction Searching | Step-by-Step Procedures and Protocols | Citation Mapping | Biosequence Searching | Retrosynthetic Analysis | Early 1800s to Present
Before you use CAS SciFindern for the first time, you will need to create an account by using the one-time user registration link above.
Search scientific citations from journals (thousands of active journals from CAplus and MEDLINE, including >1,500 key chemistry journals), patents from 63 patent authorities, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations, reviews, and meeting abstracts. CAS SciFindern is a product of Chemical Abstracts Service, a division of the American Chemical Society (early 1800s to present).
Search by keyword ...
... or by citation:
When you find a source you want, use 
to access the full-text document (see screenshot below). Ask a Librarian if you need assistance with this process.
Sources may be available electronically, in hard copy at Booth Library, or by using interlibrary loan. See the section within this guide on Using Interlibrary Loan.
-
ACS Publications This link opens in a new windowPublications by the American Chemical Society | ACS Style Guide | Applied Chemistry | Biochemistry | Macromolecular Chemistry | Organic Chemistry | Physical, Inorganic, and Analytical Chemistry
Search the journal literature published by the American Chemical Society (1879 to present).
Look for the search box at the top right of the ACS Publications home page. Search by keyword or citation:
Find more relevant results by using Refine Search at the top of the page or Narrow Results in the left-hand side of the page.
-
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes MEDLINE | Topics | Biochemistry | Communication Disorders | Health Care | Medicine | Nursing | Nutrition | Pharmacology | Pre-Clinical Sciences | 1800s to Present
Search literature in the field of biomedicine and health, including portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Use the "Get Full Text" link to locate full-text documents in PubMed.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed research | Citations and abstracts | Science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities | Search for cited references and author and affiliation profiles | Data from over 22,000 journals and over 150,000 books | Track, analyze, and visualize scholarly research | Create an account to save searches and set up email alerts.
Includes journals from ACS Publications, Royal Society of Chemistry, Elsevier, Wiley, and many more.
Results are sorted, by default, with the newest items at the top. You can change this to sort by relevance (based on your search words) or times cited (highly cited articles are typically considered more influential works).
Also notice the options to refine results in the left-hand column of the screen, including to search within your results.
Research publishing trends on a topic by clicking Analyze search results as shown in the screenshot above.
Learn about the top scholars (authors) publishing on the topic, the institutions (affiliations) producing the most publications, and the primary sources for funding (funding sponsors).
