Use Interlibrary Loan
Articles
After searching for articles in an article database, if you see "Get Full Text" — 
, click on it to locate the full text article. In CAS SciFindern, you will use "Full Text" — 
. You will either be directed to the full text article, or you will have the option to request the item using interlibrary loan (for items not owned by Booth Library). Requesting articles via interlibrary loan is a free service.
How does "Get Full Text" work?
After you click on the 
icon, you'll be taken to the library catalog page for the journal article you want.
Look under "Full Text Availability" to see if Booth Library offers a link to the full text, and click the link to get the article. If the library owns print copies of the journal, click Check holdings to see if the library has the year and issue you need.
If no copies are available, look for the yellow box labeled "Please sign in to check if there are any request options," and sign in with your EIU NetID and password.
After logging in, look for the option to request the article via interlibrary loan.
Click the link to reach an interlibrary loan form. The article citation information will already be filled in for you.
Fill out the rest of the form completely, including the Need By date at the bottom, and click the box at the top after reading the request conditions.
After placing your request, you'll get a copy of the article via email (usually within a few days).
How do I get more help?
If a link didn't work correctly or if you have other questions, the options at the bottom of the library catalog screen will connect you with a librarian who can help you.
Please Ask a Librarian if you need help with "Get Full Text," searching Booth Library's databases, or any other library resource or service. You can stop by the Research Help desk during open hours, chat with us, email us, give us a call, or set up an appointment to meet with a librarian for research help.
Books
If the book you want is not available at Booth Library, use I-Share or WorldCat to locate the item.
I-Share
As an EIU student, you may request books from other academic libraries in Illinois for free. If you begin in the Booth Library Online Catalog, make sure to change your search from "Local Catalog Only" to "All I-Share Libraries," as indicated in the diagram below.
After selecting a title, you'll need to first sign in and then click on the white I-Share banner, as shown below, to place your request. After submitting your request, you will receive an email when the book is ready to be picked up (generally, in 3-4 business days). Track the status of your request from Your Library Account. Retrieve your book from the Circulation Desk of Booth Library, on the main floor near the south entrance.
Note that e-books not owned by Booth Library may not be accessible to Booth Library patrons due to publisher restrictions on use.
WorldCat
If the book you want is not at Booth Library and is not available via I-Share, try searching WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections.
After clicking on a title in your list of results, look for the link to "Borrow this item from another library," as highlighted below. Books requested using WorldCat will take some time to arrive (1-2 weeks, sometimes longer), depending on where the nearest library is that owns a copy. This is a free service.
You will receive an email when the book is ready to be picked up. Retrieve your book from the Circulation Desk of Booth Library, on the main floor near the south entrance.
If you have questions about using the library, remember to Ask a Librarian!
