Chemistry Fundamentals - books & ebooks
Careers in Chemistry by
It is estimated that the United States will have over 1 million job openings in STEM-related (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) fields and occupations by 2018. Salem's new series explores the fields and occupations of science and other emerging fields, emphasising STEM occupations and outlooks and green technologies where applicable. Written for high school and undergraduate students as well as general nonspecialists, this series will provide much needed insight into the career opportunities of this growing field. Careers in Chemistry contains over twenty profiles of branches or fields of chemistry such as Agricultural Chemistry, Cosmetics Chemistry, Food Chemistry, and Forensic Science. It also contains over twenty corresponding occupational profiles that highlight a particular career within that branch or field (for example, a perfume chemist for Cosmetics Chemistry). All essays are written by authors with expertise in science or a related field. Among the fields/careers covered are: Agricultural Chemistry - Agricultural Chemist Atmospheric Chemistry - Atmospheric Chemist Biochemistry - Biochemical Engineer Chemical Engineering - Production Engineer Chemical Genetics - Geneticist Chemical Technology - Chemical Technician Cosmetics Chemistry - Perfume Chemist Electrochemistry - Fuel Cell Engineer Environmental Chemistry - Environmental Chemist Femtochemistry - Experimental Scientist Food Chemistry - Food Technologist or Nutritionist Forensic Science - Forensic Scientist Geochemistry - Geochemist Green Chemistry - Analytical Chemist Materials Science - Materials Chemist Medicinal Chemistry - Oncologist Nuclear Chemistry - Radiochemist Petrochemistry - Petrochemist Pharmacology - Pharmacist Polymer Chemistry - Plastics Engineer Pulp and Paper Chemistry - Wood chemist Toxicology - Toxicologist The essays on the fields of chemistry include Core Concepts; Applications Past and Present; Impact on Industry; and Social Context and Future Prospect. Also included is a fact-based overview of the branch or subfield it covers. The essays on the corresponding occupation profiles include Education and Coursework; Daily Tasks and Technology; Earnings and Employment Outlook; and Related Occupations. Further reading suggestions accompany all science articles and a listing of occupational web resources accompany all occupational profiles. Every entry also includes sidebars, photos, and graphs illustrating key concepts.
Chemical Information for Chemists by
While it is not difficult to find data in many cases, what advice can you get on the quality of the data retrieved? Chemical Information for Chemists could help with this problem and more. This book is a chemical information book aimed specifically at practicing chemists. Written and edited by experts in the field, it is ideal for chemists who lack a chemical information professional able to teach basic and intermediate techniques in retrieving and evaluating information using the unique entry points of the chemical literature, including structure, formula, substructure, and sequence. Aimed at students on undergraduate and graduate courses, it could also be a useful guide to new information specialists who are facing the challenging diversity of chemical literature.
Call Number: QD8.5 .C44 2014
The History of Chemistry by
From man's first exploration of natural materials and their transformations to today's materials science, chemistry has always been the central discipline that underpins both the physical and biological sciences, as well as technology.In this Very Short Introduction, William H Brock traces the unique appeal of this fundamental science throughout history. Covering alchemy, early-modern chemistry, pneumatic chemistry and Lavoisier's re-interpretation of chemical change, the rise of organic and physical chemistry, and the transforming power of synthesis, Brock explores the extraordinary and often puzzling transformations of natural and artificial materials, as well as the men and women who experimented, speculated, and explained matter and change.
Call Number: QD11 .B758 2016
Organic Chemistry by
Organic chemistry is the chemistry of compounds of carbon. The ability of carbon to link together to form long chain molecules and ring compounds as well as bonding with many other elements has led to a vast array of organic compounds. These compounds are central to life, forming the basis for organic molecules such as nucleic acids, proteins, carbohydrates, and lipids.In this Very Short Introduction Graham Patrick covers the whole range of organic compounds and their roles. Beginning with the structures and properties of the basic groups of organic compounds, he goes on to consider organic compounds in the areas of pharmaceuticals, polymers, food and drink,petrochemicals, and nanotechnology. He looks at how new materials, in particular the single layer form of carbon called graphene, are opening up exciting new possibilities for applications, and discusses the particular challenges of working with carbon compounds, many of which are colourless.Patrick also discusses techniques used in the field.
Call Number: QD251.3 .P38 2017x
Physical Chemistry by
With the development of a variety of exciting new areas of research involving computational chemistry, nano- and smart materials, and applications of the recently discovered graphene, there can be no doubt that physical chemistry is a vitally important field. It is also perceived as the most daunting branch of chemistry, being necessarily grounded in physics and mathematics and drawing as it does on quantum mechanics, thermodynamics, and statistical thermodynamics.With his typical clarity and hardly a formula in sight, Peter Atkins' Very Short Introduction explores the contributions physical chemistry has made to all branches of chemistry. Providing an insight into its central concepts Atkins reveals the cultural contributions physical chemistry has made to our understanding of the natural world.
Call Number: QD453.3 .A85 2014x
Survival Guide to Organic Chemistry by
The Survival Guide to Organic Chemistry: Bridging the Gap from General Chemistry enables organic chemistry students to bridge the gap between general chemistry and organic chemistry. It makes sense of the myriad of in-depth concepts of organic chemistry, without overwhelming them in the necessary detail often given in a complete organic chemistry text. Here, the topics covered span the entire standard organic chemistry curriculum. The authors describe subjects which require further explanation, offer alternate viewpoints for understanding and provide hands-on practical problems and solutions to help master the material. This text ultimately allows students to apply key ideas from their general chemistry curriculum to key concepts in organic chemistry. Key Features: Reviews key general chemistry concepts and techniques, adapted for application to important organic principles Provides practical guidance to help students make the notoriously well-known and arduous transition from general chemistry to organic chemistry Explains organic concepts and reaction mechanisms, generally expanding the focus on how to understand each step from a more intuitive viewpoint Covers concepts that need further explanation as well as those that summarize and emphasize key ideas or skills necessary in this field. An added bonus is help with organizing principles to make sense of a wide range of similar reactions and mechanisms Implements a user-friendly process to achieve the end result of problem solving Covers organic chemistry I and II concepts at the level and depth of a standard ACS organic chemistry curriculum; features practice problems and solutions to help master the material, including an extensive and comprehensive bank of practice exams with solutions
Call Number: QD253.2 .M34 2017
What Is Chemistry? by
Most people remember chemistry from their schooldays as a subject that was largely incomprehensible, fact-rich but understanding-poor, smelly, and so far removed from the real world of events and pleasures that there seemed little point, except for the most introverted, in coming to terms with its grubby concepts, spells, recipes, and rules.Peter Atkins wants to change all that. In What is Chemistry? he encourages us to look at chemistry anew, through a chemist's eyes, to understand its central concepts and to see how it contributes not only towards our material comfort, but also to human culture. Atkins shows how chemistry provides the infrastructure of our world, through the chemical industry, the fuels of heating, power generation, and transport, as well as the fabrics of our clothing and furnishings. By considering the remarkable achievements that chemistry has made, and examining its place between both physics and biology, Atkins presents a fascinating, clear, and rigorous exploration of the world of chemistry - its structure, core concepts, and exciting contributions to new cutting-edge technologies.
Call Number: QD37 .A85 2013
Principles of Chemistry by
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of chemistry, from elements and molecules to chemical reactions and properties of matter.
Schaum's Outline of Beginning Chemistry by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 650 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 16 detailed videos featuring Chemistry instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor! You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 673 fully solved problems Hundreds of examples with explanations of chemistry concepts Support for all the major textbooks for beginning chemistry courses Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines--Problem Solved.
Call Number: QD41 .G648 2014x
Books for Presentations, Papers, etc.
Find these books online or on the 1000 Level, or first floor, of the library:
Study and communication skills for the chemical sciences (3rd ed.) by
The accessible and friendly writing style helps to engage students with the subject while frequent chemical examples highlight the relevance of the skills being learned. A comprehensive range of skills are covered, from making the most of practicals, lectures and group work, through to writing and presentation skills, and effective revision for exams. An expanded chapter on employability offers invaluable advice for getting a job in today's competitive market.
Call Number: QD40 .O86 2019
Write Like a Chemist by
Write Like a Chemist is a unique guide to chemistry-specific writing. Written with National Science Foundation support and extensively piloted in chemistry courses nationwide, it offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal. Chemistry students, post-docs, faculty, and other professionals interested in perfecting their disciplinary writing will find it an indispensable reference. Users of the book will learn to write through a host of exercises, ranging in difficulty from correcting single words and sentences to writing professional-quality papers, abstracts, posters, and proposals. The book's read-analyze-write approach teaches students to analyze what they read and then write, paying attention to audience, organization, writing conventions, grammar, and science content, thereby turning the complex process of writing into graduated, achievable tasks. Concise writing and organizational skills are stressed throughout, and "move structures" teach students conventional ways to present their stories of scientific discovery. This resource includes over 350 excerpts from ACS journal articles, ACS conference abstracts, and successful NSF CAREER proposals, excerpts that will serve as useful models of chemistry writing for years to come. Other special features: Usable in chemistry lab, lecture, and writing-dedicated courses Useful as a writing resource for practicing chemists Augmented by Language Tips that address troublesome areas of language and grammer in a self-study format Accompanied by a Web site: http://www.oup.com/us/writelikeachemist Supplemented with an answer key for faculty adopting the book
Call Number: QD9.15 .W75 2008
Designing Science Presentations by
Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions.
Call Number: Q223 .C325 2013x
Presentation Skills for Scientists by
It is now widely recognised that professional presentation skills are an indispensable cornerstone of a successful scientific career. This updated second edition provides a concise and accessible guide to preparing and delivering scientific presentations. Its highly practical 'how-to' style focuses on the issues that are of immediate concern to the busy scientist. The text covers all of the important aspects of scientific presentations, including knowing your audience, producing visual material, controlling nerves and handling questions. It also includes advice on presenting in English for non-native speakers, helping them to improve the clarity and effectiveness of their presentations. Links are included throughout the text to the accompanying website, which contains annotated video clips of speakers delivering a talk and demonstrates the common problems encountered, as well as exercises designed to overcome them. It also contains image files to demonstrate the design issues to consider when creating visual material.
Call Number: Q223 .Z36 2018
A Practical Guide to Scientific Writing in Chemistry by
Successful completion of postgraduate studies, especially PhD, and career advancement in academia strongly depend on the ability to publish scientific papers or books and attract research grants. However, many chemical scientists find preparing scientific papers and research grant and book proposals difficult; partly because of insufficient training in writing and partly because there are few practical books to enable them to learn the art. This step-by-step practical guide is intended mainly for postgraduate students and early career researchers in chemical science and the libraries that serve them but will also be useful to other scientists. Key Features: Improves the reader's chances of getting their manuscript published in chemistry journals. Increases the likelihood of winning research grants in chemistry. Takes a "lead by the hand" approach. Contains chapters on the preparation of graphical abstracts and research highlights. Uses sketches and other illustration styles to aid mental visualization of concepts. Contains practical examples taken from published papers and successful research grant proposals.
A Concise Guide to Communication in Science and Engineering by
Success in scientific and engineering research depends on effective writing and presentation. The purpose of this guide is to help the reader achieve that goal. It enables students and researchers to write and present material to a professional modern standard, efficiently and painlessly, andwith maximum impact.The approach is not prescriptive. Rather, the emphasis is on a logical approach to communication, informed by what needs to be achieved, what works in practice, and what interferes with success. Over 400 examples of good and bad writing and graphing are presented. Each is from a published researcharticle and is accompanied by analysis, comment, and correction where needed. Journal reviewers' critiques of submitted manuscripts are included to illustrate common pitfalls. Above all, this is a "how-to" book, comprehensive but concise, suitable for continuous study or quick reference. Checklistsat the end of each chapter enable the reader to test the readiness of a dissertation, journal submission, or conference presentation for assessment or review. Although oriented towards engineering and the physical and life sciences, it is also relevant to other areas, including behavioural andclinical sciences and medicine.
Call Number: Q223 .F696 2017x
Effective Scientific Communication by
Writing and the sciences are intricately linked. Without writing, science would not exist -- and could not be funded, communicated, replicated, enhanced, or applied. Further, writing helps scientists (and students) understand the science, explain the results of research in a greater context, and develop new ideas. Working from this philosophy, this book primarily addresses undergraduate STEM majors and minors who want or need to improve their scientific writing skills. Grounded in the basics of rhetorical research and scientific writing practices and guided by the authors' experiences in the classroom, this book makes the case that writing is an essential component of science regardless of the stage of the scientific process, and that it is in fact a component of thinking about science itself. Featuring student-centered stories that place each topic in context and suggestions for practice, Hanganu-Bresch and Flaherty arm STEM students with the skills to enhance critical thinking and cultivate good writing habits.
Call Number: Q223 .H3484 2020
Sell Your Research: Public Speaking for Scientists by
Public speaking is an essential component in the life of a scientist, whatever your level of career. In this book, the authors describe a tried-and-tested technique for preparing a presentation: the SELL Method. Following these three simple steps - Skeleton, Envelope, Life & Logistics - will help you make the most out of any talk. Whether it be a 3-minute pitch or an hour-long plenary session, you will find pages of advice, theory and practical exercises enabling you to SELL YOUR RESEARCH with impact.
Communicating as Women in STEM by
Communicating as Women in STEM discusses various communication styles, also demonstrating how principles can be applied during interpersonal interactions in day-to-day environments. It provides women and other underrepresented groups, faculty and administrators with the tools they need to break barriers raised by different communication styles within the STEM fields. Sections cover tactics on how to become more aware of communication patterns and how to cope with, and improve, communication. This practical resource for women in the STEM fields is also ideal for mentors, educators, advisers and organizations interested in encouraging women to choose and remain in these fields.
Call Number: P94.5.W65 B733 2018x
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (8th ed.) by
Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. Writing and publishing journal articles are essential aspects of a successful scientific career. Unfortunately, many scientists find the process of communicating about their work intimidating and confusing. Now in its eighth edition, How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper teaches how to apply clear focus, good organization, and simple, straightforward language to write papers as well as communicate effectively in many other scientifically related applications. By providing practical, readable, and sometimes humorous guidance, this book enables researchers to gain the knowledge, skills, and confidence to succeed in communicating about their work. The authors not only guide readers in the craft of scientific writing--broken down into the separate tasks of writing the respective sections of a scientific paper and then publishing the paper--but also address important related psychological, ethical, logistical, and cultural considerations in communicating about science. Chapter topics include composing (and requesting) recommendation letters, writing grant proposals, providing peer review, editing one's own work, preparing oral presentations and poster presentations, and working with the popular media. This is an essential resource for researchers--both native and non-native users of English--with limited experience writing scientific papers, such as graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and early-career faculty members. Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references Explains step by step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations and writing proposals Presents an insightful insider's view of how journals actually work--and describes how best to work with them
Call Number: T11 .D33 2016
