LGBT+ Resources

Relevant websites and digital archives

Listed here is a collection of online materials (including primary sources) for your research beyond the collections at Booth! Many are free and Open Access.

This section is deeply indebted to the work done on the University of Illinois' Research Guide, "Queer Theory, Online Sources" and Elon University's LGBTQ History in the United States, Internet Resources.

Support and Research Organizations

More Organizations

The original list of organizations was compiled by Northern Illinois University Librarian Robert Ridinger.

• American Civil Liberties Union: LGBT Issues - The Project is centered on five areas of LGBT civil rights- gender identity and expression, parenting, youth and schools, relationships, and discrimination in housing and employment.
• American Library Association Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Transgendered Round Table - Founded in 1970 as the Task Force on Gay Liberation, this is the oldest professional homosexual caucus in the United States. Complete listings of all recipients of the Gay and Lesbian Book Awards and conference programs are included.
• Astraea: Lesbian Foundation for Justice - The Astraea Foundation was established in 1977 by a group of women activists concerned about the many women's programs and projects having difficulty getting funding due to their lesbian, progressive, and feminist perspectives. Their mission “. . .was to raise money to support the work of these women's groups.” It was made a national foundation in 1990.
• Center for Homicide Research
• COLAGE (Children of Gays and Lesbians Everywhere) - COLAGE publishes a quarterly newsletter and offers support groups for children age 12 and older.
• Egale Canada
• Equality Illinois -Founded in 1992 to address the civil rights isssues facing the LGBT citizens of Illinois, this statewide activist group focuses its efforts on working for the passage of civil rights laws ( including civil unions and same-sex marriage ) , challenging employment discrimination and  violence, and promoting awareness of transgender issues.
• The Equality Project
• Federation of Gay Games
• Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation - The only national gay and lesbian multimedia watchdog organization, dedicated to “promoting fair, accurate and inclusive representation as a means of challenging discrimination based on sexual orientation or identity.” Site features include information on the creation of October as Lesbian and Gay History Month, the Freedom to Marry Project, and the GLAAD archives.
• Gay and Lesbian Medical Association
• Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN) -Founded in 1990 by a group of educators, the Network works to make schools safer for LGBT students, assist in the creation of local GSA ( gay-straight alliance ) groups, and challenges bullying to make schools safe space for all students, regardless of sexual orientation or gender choice.
• Human Rights Campaign - The United States largest gay and lesbian lobbying organization, with emphasis on comprehensive homosexual rights and AIDS.
• Intertnational Association of Lesbian and Gay Pride Coordinators, Inc. - A non-profit organization representing cities worldwide which produce gay and lesbian pride events. This page provides the full text of the mission statement, "Anomaly" (the group's newsletter), complete contact information and a calendar.
• International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission
• International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual , Trans and Intersex Association
• Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund - Founded in 1973, the largest legal organization working to secure rights for gays, lesbians and persons with HIV via education, public policy work and litigation.
• Metropolitan Community Churches
• National Association of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Community Centers - Arranged by state and budget, this site is very useful for locating local and regional service providers. A service of the Lesbian and Gay Community Center of New York.
• National Black Justice Coalition
• National Center for Transgender Equality - Founded in 2003 to present a consistent voice on a wide range of transgender issues at the national and local levels.
• National LGBTQ Task Force - Describing itself as “the frontline activist organization and national resource center for grassroots lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender organizations” this site also includes press releases, full text of publications and profiles of the “Creating Change” conferences.
• National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association
• National Organization of Gay and Lesbian Scientists and Technical Professionals
• P-FLAG (Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays) - An international organization founded in 1981 devoted to providing a forum for the families of gay, lesbian, and bisexual individuals wishing to work for change in public politics and social attitudes.
• Society of American Archivists Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable (LAGAR)
• Special Library Association Gay and Lesbian Issues Caucus - The professional forum for the sharing of resources and discussion of issues raised by the gay and lesbian members the Special Libraries Association. Full text of the newsletter and advisements on upcoming conferences and a list of other links to related library caucuses are included.