Welcome
Booth Library has a wide array of resources for research into LGBT+ topics. This is a general purpose guide for those wishing to research primarily LGBT+ populations, read LGBT+ voices, or seeking resources for Queer Theory. It is broken down into finding books, articles and online sources. There is also a section for Youth and Young Adult books suitable for younger audiences.
Guide originally created by Nina Hopkins, practicum student, spring 2020
Queer Theory Texts
There are a few canonical texts in reference to queer theory that essentially shaped what it is today. The selections below offer good readings from which to create fundamental queer theory arguments.
-
Gender Trouble: Feminism and the subversion of identity
by
Call Number: HQ1154 .B88 1990ISBN: 0415900433Publication Date: 1989 -
Epistemology of the Closet
by
Call Number: PS374.H63 S42 1990ISBN: 9780520078741Publication Date: 1990 -
The History of Sexuality
by
Call Number: HQ12 .F6813 1990xISBN: 9780679724698Publication Date: 1990 -
Disidentifications: queers of color and the performance of politics
by
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 M87 1999ISBN: 9780816630141Publication Date: 1999 -
General Reference
Finding sources will be covered in more depth on the specific tabs within this guide, but here are a few reference sources to get you started!
-
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 0684325543Publication Date: 2019This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content. -
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004ISBN: 9780684312613Publication Date: 2003This new three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index. -
LGBTQ in the 21st Century
by
Call Number: HQ76.3.U6 L52 2017xISBN: 9781682174548Publication Date: 2017Although the historic majority opinion of Obergefell v. Hodges legalized same-sex marriage nationwide and the military has moved toward a "gender neutral" enlistment policy, how LGBTQ people maneuver American society continues to get worked out at every level --in schools, in courts and in the popular culture. Issues that will be explored in this title include the role of non-traditional same-sex families, and expanded protections for transgender people under the framework of civil rights. As conservative governors sue the federal government and try to block what they call a "massive social experiment" in school bathrooms and locker rooms, and states deal with the attendant backlash, LGBTQ activists continue to force a national conversation on gender identity. -
LGBTQ Events
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781682175910Publication Date: 2017This new edition in the Great Events series chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. In the last ten years alone, the world has witnessed significant events that have broken down barriers, both socially and legally, making enormous strides to end discrimination against the LGBTQ community. -
LGBTQ America Today
by
Call Number: HQ73.3.U6 L43 2009ISBN: 9780313339905Publication Date: 2008-11-30This book gives students and general readers a current guide to the people and issues at the forefront of contemporary LGBTQ America. Included are more than 600 alphabetically arranged entries on literature and the arts, associations and organizations, individuals, law and public policy concerns, health and relationships, sexual issues, and numerous other topics. Entries are written by distinguished authorities and cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. Entry bibliographies and a closing bibliography aid student research by noting the most important and exciting places to look for additional current information. -
LGBT Youth Issues Today
by
Call Number: HQ76.27.Y68 N498 2014ISBN: 9781610693158Publication Date: 2014LGBT Youth Issues Today: A Reference Handbook presents historical background on the topic, provides an up-to-date examination of the issues of concern to LGBT youth, and offers in-depth information and resources for further research. In addition to providing frank, accessible information about the problems, controversies, and solutions facing today's LGBT teenagers, the work contains a chapter of essays from informed individuals regarding same-sex relationships among youth, voicing the experiences and opinions of activists, social workers, psychologists, educators, parents of LGBT youth, and LGBT youth themselves. Also included is a chapter profiling about 20 individuals and organizations that have been involved in discussions about gay and lesbian youth
