Interpersonal Communication

Health communication is a newer subset of the communication field. This encyclopedia features entries on the dynamics of interpersonal communication between health professionals, caregivers, and patients.

This encyclopedia is a reference on human action and reaction, and the thoughts, feelings, and physiological functions behind those actions.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, and features a chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a resource guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide scholars in their research.

The Watson and Hill Dictionary has long been a classic of its kind, a "must" for university and college booklists and both students and teachers of communication. This new edition takes into account recent developments in communication while at the same time retaining historical perspectives. There are over 50 new entries as well as substantial updates in areas such as Intercultural communication, public relations, and marketing communications. Major events, such as the "war on terror" and the military occupation of Iraq, have raised issues concerning the gathering and presentation of news. Journalism in all its forms has been put on the spot, censored, and pilloried. The transmission of information and images has, through the availability of computers and mobile phones, become open province for members of the public to make their own news. The Dictionary of Media and Communication responds to a vital need of all citizens in the 21st century to be media literate by developing a better understanding of the contexts in which interpersonal, group, national, and international communication takes place.

The Dictionary of the Social Sciences is a comprehensive reference work with over 1700 entries ranging from fifty to five hundred words covering topics such as anthropology, sociology, economics, political science, cultural studies, human and cultural geography, and Marxism. The Dictionary is aimed at students and scholars who need ready access to defined terms in a social science outside of their immediate area of expertise, for example an economist needing information regarding a political science term. The Dictionary will necessary avoid a thorough overview of these disciplines - the criteria for inclusion will limit entries to those topics in each area that will be of interest to trans-disciplinary users. A thematically organized bibliography will also be included.

Semiotics, Media Studies and Communication Studies are three closely interlinked fields. Briefly stated, Semiotics, the science of signs, looks at how humans search for and construct meaning; Communication Studies is concerned with how meaning is conveyed; and Media Studies considers the ways in which messages are transmitted and received.

The Dictionary of Media and Communication is an authoritative and wide-ranging A-Z providing over 2,200 entries on terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms, across subject areas that include advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, radio studies, and telecommunications. It also covers relevant terminology from related disciplines such as literary theory, semiotics, cultural studies, and philosophy.