Primary Sources
Primary Sources
Primary sources are contemporary documents that are associated with the historical event. Examples of primary sources include diaries, letters, magazine and newspaper articles, court hearings, and government documents.
For a more in-depth explanation and further examples, visit the guide listed below.
Some primary sources related to the age of piracy include:
British Piracy in the Golden Age by
Providing a comprehensive view of Golden Age piracy, this edition includes descriptions of the actions of individuals alongside contemporary discussions of the piracy problem through books, journals, newspaper articles, essays, reviews, proposals, pamphlets and sermons from Britain and its colonies.
Call Number: G535 .B75 2007xISBN: 9781851968459Publication Date: 2007
Pirates in the Age of Sail by
It examines the major events and personalities in the history of piracy. Antony has selected primacy sources that allow readers to examine pirates on their own terms and to reconstruct their daily lives and aspirations. Pirates in the Age of Sail also examines the role of pirates in the political, social, and economic transformations of the early modern world, with an emphasis on cultural and ethnic diversity.
Call Number: G535 .A584 2007ISBN: 9780393927887Publication Date: 2007
Booth also has several historical newspaper and magazine databases that provide access to primary sources.
- History DatabasesLists all databases relevant to doing research in History available at Booth Library
- Newspaper DatabasesLists all newspaper databases accessible from Booth Library
These historical newspaper and magazine databases are useful for primary source research
- New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles and scanned image page-views for this national newspaper | 1851-2019
- Chicago Tribune (Historical) This link opens in a new windowFull text and images for the Chicago Tribune | 1849-1997
- Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowFull-text Articles | 1785-2019
- Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPrimary source articles from 19th-century British periodicals | Events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the British Empire and the 19th-century world | Includes Series I (New Readerships) and Series II (Empire)
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new windowCollection of 11 different African-American Newspapers in full text / PDF | The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Frederick Douglass’ Paper, The Freedmen’s Record, Frederick Douglass Monthly, Freedom’s Journal, The National Era, The Negro Business League Herald, The North Star, Provincial Freeman | Weekly Advocate
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowFull text and images from historical magazines | Topics include American independence, general interest, children's publications, journal articles for women, and the Civil War | 1740s - early 1900s
- Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1815 This link opens in a new windowPublished in Philadelphia from 1728 through the early 1800s | Benjamin Franklin`s Newspaper | Firsthand View of Colonial America
