Using the Library Catalog
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of Piracy by undergraduates, graduates and faculty. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection and the online full-text databases. Books and journal articles from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.
Browsing for books on Piracy
Books in Booth Library are shelved by call number. Browsing for books can help familiarize you with the collection. Books may be borrowed using your Panther Card.
To find books on the history of Piracy, browse the shelves in these call numbers for the following subject areas:
Pirates – History: G535 (on the 3000 level)
Naval Science: V to VM (on the 1000 level)
Reference Books
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.
- Reference databasesA list of all reference databases licensed by Booth Library.
Reference books related to the history of Piracy
British Piracy in the Golden Age by
Providing a comprehensive view of Golden Age piracy, this edition includes descriptions of the actions of individuals alongside contemporary discussions of the piracy problem through books, journals, newspaper articles, essays, reviews, proposals, pamphlets and sermons from Britain and its colonies.
Call Number: G535 .B75 2007xISBN: 9781851968459Publication Date: 2007
The Pirate Dictionary by
Reading through these words and phrases is an abbreviated trip through history, with lists of major naval mutinies, a summary of the slave trade, and even jokes. This dictionary is written to be entertaining as well as informative, to give a flavor of the interesting times from the fifteenth to the eighteenth centuries when pirates controlled many sea lanes. It also contains a treasure trove of factual information about life aboard the ship, important pirate haunts, and technical terms.
Call Number: G535 .B74 2004ISBN: 1589802438Publication Date: 2004
Pirates and Privateers of the Americas by
This engaging encyclopedia profiles the lives and times of the most colorful buccaneers from the mid-17th to early 18th centuries. This unique A-Z reference work includes stories of prominent and lesser-known individuals, battles, weapons, ships, fleets, and more. Each entry includes hard to find facts on events that took place on the high seas and in the ports, cities, and settlements of the New World. Cross-references link related entries, and a bibliography directs readers to additional sources of information.
Call Number: E18 .M44 1994ISBN: 0874367514Publication Date: 1994
Daily Life of Pirates by
Over the past decade, research in Spanish, French, and Dutch archives, as well as in traditional English repositories, has resulted in a clearer picture of the activities and lives of the pirates who roamed the seas during the "Golden Age of Piracy" from 1650 to 1720. That is the picture shared in "Daily Life of Pirates." The book describes how pirates actually lived, touching on their food and drink, their hideouts, and their humor. It also examines their ships, weapons and seamanship, their plunder and their use of torture. The book's detailed coverage is made possible by newly uncovered interrogations of pirates and by official depositions given by their victims, both of which provide insights that go well beyond simple recountings of famous exploits. The result is a tantalizing, true picture of pirates' daily lives that reveals many surprising facts, such as the reality that most of their time was spent upon land as actual piracy was a seasonal occupation."
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 1283394405Publication Date: 2012
Pirates Through the Ages Reference Library by
Pirates Through the Ages Reference Library explores the history of piracy from ancient times to the present day. The set includes Almanac, Biographies and Primary Sources volumes, covering topics including piracy in antiquity and the Middle Ages; the golden age of piracy in the Caribbean; female pirates; the pirate code of conduct and pirate slang; strongholds and hideouts; ships, weaponry, and sea battles; pirates in literature and film, modern maritime piracy; and more. The set includes standard U·X·L® Reference Library features such as a chronology, glossary, research and activity ideas, and more. Also includes a comprehensive index.
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 1414486677Publication Date: 2011
- Piracy subject search in Gale EBooksBrowse 98 online encyclopedia entries about piracy from Gale EBooks
Examples of general reference books
American National Biography by Call Number: REF CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21
The Encyclopedia of World War II : A Political, Social, and Military History by Call Number: REF D740 .E516 2005ISBN: 9781576079997Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Encyclopedia of American History by Call Number: REF E174 .E53 2003ISBN: 081604371XPublication Date: 2003-01-01
The Oxford Companion to Irish History by Call Number: REF DA912 .O94 2002ISBN: 019866270XPublication Date: 2002
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Civilizations by Call Number: REF G1033 .H39 2005xISBN: 0141014482Publication Date: 2005
