Librarian
David Bell
he/him
Books and Reference books
Library resource links
- Library home pageStarting point for access to all library resources.
- Library CatalogDatabase interface for all EIU's print and electronic library holdings.
Booth Catalog Search
Electronic Reference Search
Use this search box to search across hundreds of electronic reference resources from one of four publishers.
Gale, Springer, Sage and EBSCO refer to the publisher or platform. Gale and EBSCO are the broadest, Springer is STEM focused.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowAt more than 600,000 words, the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowSearch and view over 6,500 e-book titles on a variety of topics, including business, computer science, criminal justice, education, general reference, management, nursing and health, political science, psychology, talent development, and more. Includes Shakespeare's plays and other titles from Project Gutenberg.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThousands of single and multi-volume encyclopedias and other reference works, across multiple disciplines | Find factual information and explore a variety of subjects | Searchable and browsable
- Sage Knowledge E-Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowSelected SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new windowFull-text E-books and Book Chapters | Publication Dates from 2005-2024 | Peer Reviewed Journals
Article resources
Article resources
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowFull-text article database with broad subject coverage | Area Studies | Ethnic & Multicultural Studies | General Sciences | Social Sciences | Law | Politics & Government | Women`s Studies | Popular Culture | Search Multiple Databases
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowNewspapers | US, Canadian, and International News | Current New York Times & Wall Street Journal | Newswires and News Blogs | Business, Political, Social, Entertainment Topics | 1980 to present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals and articles | Multi-disciplinary coverage | Includes literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, theater, cultural studies, education, philosophy, religion, political science, gender studies, social sciences, and more
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly Journal Articles and Book Chapters | Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
- Google Scholar with EIU Electronic Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Use the Get Full Text @ EIU link to access Booth Library`s subscriptions. Learn how to set preferences for EIU journals in the generic Google Scholar at this link: Google Scholar Library settings.
The search box below is identical to the article search on the Booth home page.
Article search
This search box is identical to the article search on the Booth homepage
Research guides
Selected research guides
explore additional library skills and resources through these task-based pages
- The Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleFrom the City Colleges of Chicago
Support videos
"How to" videos
- Finding and retrieving books from EIU's Booth Library (the quick version)
Guide to searching Booth's library catalog, and finding the materials on the shelf. Video, 2:01 eiu.libguides.com/findabook - Searching for articles in JSTOR
New to JSTOR search? This playlist of short videos gives you an overview of how to get started with our basic search and introduces you how to start with advanced searching. - Search EBSCO databases using the library articles tab
Learn to use the articles search to identify articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, limit them to relevant resources and retrieve the articles for free, even if EIU doesn't subscribe.
