Science and Math Librarian
Kirstin Duffin
she, her
Need help right now?
Call the Booth Library Research Help Desk when the library is open: 217-581-6072
Chat with a librarian any time of the day or night*: 24/7 chat
*members of our 24/7 chat consortium, including Booth Librarians and beyond, staff this service.
Getting started
This guide will help you navigate EIU Booth Library resources for mathematics. Use the menu on the left-hand side of the page to navigate between pages.
Within this guide, learn how to locate and navigate:
- background information on your mathematics topic
- scholarly journal articles and math article databases
- books and e-books
- interlibrary loan, to request items from other libraries
- writing and citing resources
To jump right into searching for articles, start with these databases:
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database covering articles in mathematics, from 1940 to present. It provides access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. This should be your first stop when looking for articles in math.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations with some full-text articles across science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Search for "cited by" references to find more current articles, as well as author and affiliation profiles.
See more mathematics article databases.
Meet Your Librarian
| Consult with Kirstin, your Math Librarian, to get help with: |
|---|
| - developing a research strategy, |
| - selecting appropriate resources, |
| - using advanced database functionality, |
| - evaluating resources, |
| - troubleshooting research roadblocks, |
| - accessing hard to find materials, |
| - deciding when you've found "enough," |
| - managing your growing list of citations and articles, and |
| - providing related assistance for your information questions. |
