Library Help
Introduction
This guide provides books, ebooks, and web resources selected by the Health Studies librarian. These are intended as starting points for your paper project.
If you need assistance finding more items, please contact Stacey Knight-Davis at slknight@eiu.edu.
Articles
Articles
Search for Articles in PubMed
PubMed is provided to everyone by the National Library of Medicine. If your future employer does not provide library access, PubMed will still be available to you. Access to articles you find though PubMed is provided by Booth Library.
Epidemiology Data and General Information
Data sources
- FastStatsData on a wide range of conditions and risks in the United States, produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Global Burden of DiseaseGlobal, regional, national, and in some cases subnational estimates of the burden of diseases, injuries, and risk factors
Medical Conditions and Diseases - Encyclopedias
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone. - Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Epidemiology Ebooks
Epidemiological Research: Terms and Concepts by Publication Date: 2011
Epidemiology by Publication Date: 2011
The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Handbook of Epidemiology by Publication Date: 2013
Modeling to Inform Infectious Disease Control by Publication Date: 2015
Modern Infectious Disease Epidemiology by Publication Date: 2010
Cardiovascular Disease
Cardiovascular disease
Diabetes and Cardiovascular Disease by Publication Date: 2015-07-08
Epidemiology by Publication Date: 2011-11-08
Epidemiology of Human Congenital Malformations by Publication Date: 2013-10-04
Handbook of Psychocardiology by Publication Date: 2016-05-14
Hypertension in High Risk African Americans by Publication Date: 2015-01-03
Interdisciplinary Concepts in Cardiovascular Health by Publication Date: 2013-11-20
Management of Cardiovascular Disease in Women by Publication Date: 2014-03-24
A Systematic Review of Key Issues in Public Health by Publication Date: 2015-03-13
Vascular Diseases for the Non-Specialist by Publication Date: 2017-01-26
Women and Cardiovascular Disease by Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Clostridium difficile / Clostridioides difficile
- Burden of Clostridium difficile Infection in the United States - New England Journal of Medicine 2015; 372:825-834. February 26, 2015authors: Fernanda C. Lessa, M.D., M.P.H., Yi Mu, Ph.D., Wendy M. Bamberg, M.D., Zintars G. Beldavs, M.S., Ghinwa K. Dumyati, M.D., John R. Dunn, D.V.M., Ph.D., Monica M. Farley, M.D., Stacy M. Holzbauer, D.V.M., M.P.H., James I. Meek, M.P.H., Erin C. Phipps, D.V.M., M.P.H., Lucy E. Wilson, M.D., Lisa G. Winston, M.D., Jessica A. Cohen, M.P.H., Brandi M. Limbago, Ph.D., Scott K. Fridkin, M.D., Dale N. Gerding, M.D., and L. Clifford McDonald, M.D.
- Clostridium Difficile Infection
From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Includes prevention, tracking, guidelines, and more - Has an Alternative to Table Sugar Contributed to the C. Diff. Epidemic? by Francis CollinsNIH Director's Blog; January 9, 2018.
Bacterial Infections of Humans by Publication Date: 2010-04-05
Clostridium Difficile : The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by ISBN: 1410380777Publication Date: 2018-01-19"A unique source of information on infectious diseases that have either lately appeared for the first time in a population or rapidly increased in incidence. Provides authoritative, balanced information that addresses the pathogens that are causing and threaten to cause significant health crises. Ebola, Lassa Fever, MERS, Rift Valley Fever, and Zika virus are among the diseases covered"--
Emerging Issues and Controversies in Infectious Disease by Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Conjunctivitis
Allergic conjunctivitis, EyeWiki from the American Academy of Ophthalmology
Bacterial conjunctivitis, EyeWiki from the American Academy of Ophthalmology
Conjunctivitis, EyeWiki from the American Academy of Ophthalmology
The Infected Eye by Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Diabetes, Type I
National Diabetes Statistics Report is a periodic publication of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) that provides updated statistics about diabetes in the United States for a scientific audience. It includes information on prevalence and incidence of diabetes, prediabetes, risk factors for complications, acute and long-term complications, deaths, and costs. These data can help focus efforts to prevent and control diabetes across the United States.
Diabetes by Publication Date: 2013-04-12
Diabetes and Viruses by Publication Date: 2012-08-09
The Role of Microbes in Common Non-Infectious Diseases by Publication Date: 2014-09-25
Textbook of Diabetes by Publication Date: 2016-12-09
Diabetes, Type 2
Diabetes Data and Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Diabetes State Burden Toolkit from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Atlas of Diabetes by Publication Date: 2012-03-08- Diabetes by Publication Date: 2013-04-12
Diabetes and Hypertension by Publication Date: 2012-10-19
Diabetes in America by Call Number: RA645.D5 D53 2013xPublication Date: 2013-04-01- Textbook of Diabetes by Publication Date: 2016-12-09
Ebola
Ebola Virus Disease from the World Health Organization
African Cities and Ebola - In: Handbook of Global Urban Health by ISBN: 9781138206250Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Ebola by Call Number: RC140.5 .L96 2015Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Ebola, Culture, and Politics by Call Number: RA650.8.A1 H485 2008Publication Date: 2007-11-27
Filoviruses by Publication Date: 2008-05-29
Mathematical and Statistical Modeling for Emerging and Re-Emerging Infectious Diseases by ISBN: 3319404113Publication Date: 2016
Viral Infections of Humans by Publication Date: 2014-09-27
Epilepsy
Epilepsy Data and Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Neurology by Publication Date: 2016-04-26
Neuropsychological Conditions Across the Lifespan by Call Number: RC360 .N387 2018xPublication Date: 2018-08-16
Firearm Violence
Firearm Mortality by State - State of the States from the Centers for Disease Control
Gun Violence Archive
Online archive of gun violence incidents collected from over 2,500 media, law enforcement, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide near-real time data about the results of gun violence. GVA in an independent data collection and research group with no affiliation with any advocacy organization.
Injury Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control
Gun Violence Archive
Online archive of gun violence incidents collected from over 2,500 media, law enforcement, government and commercial sources daily in an effort to provide near-real time data about the results of gun violence. GVA in an independent data collection and research group with no affiliation with any advocacy organization.
Injury Statistics from the Centers for Disease Control
Gun Control in the United States: a Reference Handbook, 2nd Edition by Publication Date: 2017-01-23
The Gun Debate by Call Number: HV7436 .C657 2014Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Guns and Suicide by Publication Date: 2018-02-05- Urban Gun Violence - In: Handbook of Global Urban Health by ISBN: 9781138206250Publication Date: 2019-05-28
Glioblastoma
The Epidemiology of Glioma in Adults: A "State of the Science" Review.
Quinn T. Ostrom, Luc Bauchet, Faith G. Davis, Isabelle Deltour, James L. Fisher, Chelsea Eastman Langer, Melike Pekmezci, Judith A. Schwartzbaum, Michelle C. Turner, Kyle M. Walsh, Margaret R. Wrensch, and Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan
Neuro-Oncolcology 2014 Jul 16(7): 896–913.
Pathology and Epidemiology of Cancer by Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Glioblastoma : Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders by ISBN: 1410363082Publication Date: 2017
Hand Foot and Mouth Disease
A Guide to clinical management and public health response for hand, foot and mouth disease
World Health Organization
Hand, foot and mouth disease (HFMD): emerging epidemiology and the need for a vaccine strategy
S. AswathyrajG. ArunkumarE. K. AlidjinouD. Hober
Medical Microbiology and Immunology October 2016, Volume 205, Issue 5, pp 397–407
World Health Organization
Hand, foot and mouth disease (HFMD): emerging epidemiology and the need for a vaccine strategy
S. AswathyrajG. ArunkumarE. K. AlidjinouD. Hober
Medical Microbiology and Immunology October 2016, Volume 205, Issue 5, pp 397–407
Diagnostic Imaging of Emerging Infectious Diseases by Publication Date: 2015-11-26
Hepatits C
Chronic Viral Hepatitis by Publication Date: 2009-06-13
Global Virology I - Identifying and Investigating Viral Diseases by Publication Date: 2015-07-14- Modern Infectious Disease Epidemiology by Publication Date: 2010
- Viral Infections of Humans by Publication Date: 2014-09-27
Histoplasmosis
Epidemiology of Histoplasmosis Outbreaks, United States, 1938–2013
Kaitlin Benedict and Rajal K. Mody
Emerging Infectious Diseases 2016 Mar; 22(3): 370–378.
Histoplasmosis Statistics - Fungal Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Kaitlin Benedict and Rajal K. Mody
Emerging Infectious Diseases 2016 Mar; 22(3): 370–378.
Histoplasmosis Statistics - Fungal Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Human Diseases from Wildlife by Call Number: RC113.5 .C67 2015Publication Date: 2014-09-18
Insomnia
Clinical Handbook of Insomnia by Publication Date: 2016-10-11
Primary Care Sleep Medicine by Publication Date: 2014-09-11
Sleep Disorders in Women by Publication Date: 2013-03-13
Sleep Medicine by Publication Date: 2015
Lyme Disease
Lyme Disease Data and Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- Human Diseases from Wildlife by Call Number: RC113.5 .C67 2015Publication Date: 2014-09-18
- Lyme Disease - In: The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Melanoma
Genetics of Melanoma by Publication Date: 2016-06-11
Melanoma by Publication Date: 2015-12-28
Skin Cancer, Melanoma - In: The SAGE Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society by Publication Date: 2015
Skin Cancer - a World-Wide Perspective by Publication Date: 2011-01-15
Methicllin-resistant Staphyllcoccus (MRSA)
MRSA Tracking - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Antibiotic Policies by Publication Date: 2011-09-25- Modern Infectious Disease Epidemiology by Publication Date: 2010-01-23
- Staphylococcus Aureus (MRSA) : The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma
60 Years of Survival Outcomes at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center by Publication Date: 2012-11-27
Neoplastic Diseases of the Blood by Publication Date: 2012-09-22
Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma by Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Norovirus
Burden of Norovirus - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Reporting and Surveillance for Norovirus- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Reporting and Surveillance for Norovirus- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- Viral Infections of Humans by Publication Date: 2014-09-27
- Norovirus : The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Obesity
Overweight and Obesity, Data and Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- The Role of Microbes in Common Non-Infectious Diseases by Publication Date: 2014
- Handbook of Epidemiology by Publication Date: 2013
Epidemiology of Obesity in Children and Adolescents by Publication Date: 2011-01-12
Obesity by Publication Date: 2016-08-10- Prevalence of obesity among adults and youth: United States, 2011-2014 byPublication Date: 2015
- Prevalence of obesity among children and adolescents in the United States and Canada byPublication Date: 2015
- Excess deaths associated with underweight, overweight, and obesity byPublication Date: 2018
Opioid Abuse
- The Opioid Crisis in Illinois byPublication Date: 2017
Reference Shelf by Call Number: RM146.5 .P74 2017xPublication Date: 2017-10-04- The Underestimated Cost of the Opioid Crisis byPublication Date: 2017
The American Opioid Epidemic by Call Number: RC568 .O45 2019Publication Date: 2019-01-18
The Opioid Crisis by Call Number: RC568.O45 N488 2018xPublication Date: 2018-07-11
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Evidence-Based Treatments for Trauma Related Disorders in Children and Adolescents by Publication Date: 2017-01-15
Evidence Based Treatments for Trauma-Related Psychological Disorders by Publication Date: 2015-01-30
Rheumatoid Arthritis
Atlas of Rheumatoid Arthritis by Publication Date: 2015-06-09
Inflammatory Arthritis in Clinical Practice by Publication Date: 2015-02-07
Rheumatoid Arthritis and Proteus by Publication Date: 2011-10-05
Salmonella
Food Safety Risks from Wildlife by Publication Date: 2015-12-15
Guide to Foodborne Pathogens by Call Number: QR115 .G83 2013Publication Date: 2013-10-07- Human Diseases from Wildlife by Call Number: RC113.5 .C67 2015Publication Date: 2014-09-18
- Salmonella : The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Seasonal Influenza
Seasonal Flu Activity and Surveillance Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Diseases of Poverty by Publication Date: 2015-03-22
Infectious Disease by Call Number: RC111 .W39 2015xPublication Date: 2015-08-01- Mitigating the Impact of Pandemic InfluenzathroughVaccine Innovation byPublication Date: 2019
Shingles (Varicella Zoster, Herpes Zoster)
Viral Infections of the Human Nervous System by Publication Date: 2012-08-14Shingles : Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Sports Related Consussions
Stroke
Stroke Maps and Data Sources - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Stroke by Call Number: RC388.5 .S743 2012xPublication Date: 2013-01-06
Hypertension and Brain Damage by Publication Date: 2016-06-06- Neuropsychological Conditions Across the Lifespan by Call Number: RC360 .N387 2018xPublication Date: 2018-08-16
Suicide
- 2012 National Strategy for Suicide Prevention byPublication Date: 2012
- Guns and Suicide by Publication Date: 2018-02-05
- Increase in Suicide in the United States, 1999-2014 byPublication Date: 2016
- Suicides Due to Alcohol And/or Drug Overdose byPublication Date: 2012
Suicidology by Call Number: HV6545 .M273 2019Publication Date: 2019-03-04
Thyroid Cancer
- 60 Years of Survival Outcomes at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center by Publication Date: 2012-11-27
Thyroid Cancer by Publication Date: 2016-09-20
Tuberculosis
Challenges in Infectious Diseases by Publication Date: 2012-09-06- Diseases of Poverty by Publication Date: 2015-03-22
- Human Diseases from Wildlife by Call Number: RC113.5 .C67 2015Publication Date: 2014-09-18
The New Paradigm of Immunity to Tuberculosis by Publication Date: 2013-03-12
West Nile Virus
- Global Virology I - Identifying and Investigating Viral Diseases by Publication Date: 2015-07-14
- Human Diseases from Wildlife by Call Number: RC113.5 .C67 2015Publication Date: 2014-09-18
- Viral Infections of the Human Nervous System by Publication Date: 2012-08-14
Zika Virus
Zika Reporting and Surveillance - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Global Virology I - Identifying and Investigating Viral Diseases by Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Zika in Focus: Postnatal Clinical, Laboratorial and Radiological Aspects by ISBN: 9783319536439Publication Date: 2017
