Counseling Reference Resources
We have a number of rich print and electronic reference resources for counseling. The print reference collection is on the north end of main level (3000) of the library. These books are available to check out, and they can provide excellent background information on a variety of topics in the discipline. Here is a selection of counseling reference titles:
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling by
This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly and efficiently update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam.
Call Number: BF636.54 .A23 2009
APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology by
The field of counselling psychology is characterised by long roots in vocational psychology, prevention, primary interventions, advocacy, and an emphasis on individual differences. The field's fundamental philosophical approach has historically emphasised human strengths, well being, and prevention. Over the years, this approach has led to emerging emphases on cultural context, dimensions of diversity, the role of work in people's lives, and expanded roles for counselling psychologists in new settings, contexts, and with new populations. This handbook will both highlight the practices in counselling psychology's traditional areas as well as in new and emerging areas.
Call Number: BF636.6 .A63 2012
The Counseling Dictionary by
This book provides concise definitions of key concepts and interventions in the field of Counseling. The book includes 500 new terms, the names of prominent professionals who have shaped the profession, and a brief history of counseling and the American Counseling Association. School Counselors.
Call Number: BF637.C6 G5332 2006
Encyclopedia of Counseling by
In the third edition of Howard Rosenthal's best-selling test preparation guide for the National Counselor Examination (NCE), students get more help than ever with an expanded section on marriage and family counseling, new material on web counseling, and updated material throughout. This resource now includes over 1,050 tutorial questions/answers and a new "Final Review and Last Minute Super Review Boot Camp" section. This guide is an ideal review tool for state licensing, the NCC credential, and preparation for written and oral boards. And because the new Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE), draws from the same subject areas, the Encyclopedia is a perfect study guide for the CPCE as well. Written in a unique question/answer format, with a quick reference index, this is also an essential student reference volume for use in any counseling, social work, or human services course. Download the accompanying app today! This effective, authoritative and easy-to-use exam preparation app offers over 300 questions to help you revise for, and pass, the National Counselor Examination (NCE) and the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE). Howard Rosenthal's best-selling test preparation guides have helped thousands of students pass the NCE and CPCE. In this accompanying app, test-takers will find more than 300 interactive multiple-choice questions (and detailed answers), including nearly 50 brand-new questions and answers and a summary of the October 2012 changes to the test. For Apple/iOS | For Android
Call Number: BF636.6 .R67 2008
Encyclopedia of Counseling by
Selected as an Outstanding Academic Title by Choice Magazine, January 2010 Counseling is a professional activity that involves helping clients, individually or in groups, or as couples and families, deal with various career, vocational, educational, and emotional problems. From the depressed and lonely college student to the business executive at midlife experiencing decreasing levels of career satisfaction to the couple where one partner has been unfaithful in the relationship, counseling is the intervention that numerous individuals turn to each year as the challenges and stress of daily living exceed their normal coping abilities. Counseling is practiced by counselors, social workers, psychiatric nurses, psychologists, and psychiatrists. Counseling is to be differentiated from psychotherapy in that the latter deals more with mental illnesses and psychological disorders while the former is more concerned with normative stresses, adjustment difficulties, and life transitions (e.g., adjusting to unemployment or going through a divorce). The Encyclopedia of Counseling will be the definitive resource for members of the public who are interested in learning about the science and practice of counseling. It will also be a useful resource for undergraduate and graduate students as well as professionals from other specialties. Covering all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling, the set will include over 600 entries. The Encyclopedia will consist of 4 volumes: (a) changes and challenges facing counseling, (b) personal counseling for mental health problems, (c) career counseling, and (d) cross-cultural counseling. Each volume is organized alphabetically and can be purchased separately. However, each volume will also contain a comprehensive index and cross-referencing system to entries in other volumes. Volume 1: Changes and Challenges for Counseling in the 21st Century History of Counseling, Definition of Counseling, Professional Associations, Licensure, Accreditation, Managed Care, Marriage Counseling, Family Counseling, Ethical Codes Volume 2: Personal Counseling and Mental Health Problems Alcoholism, Psychodynamic Theories of Counseling, Cognitive-Behavioral Approaches to Counseling, Depression, Suicide, Eating Disorders, Bereavement Counseling Volume 3: Career and Vocational Counseling Career Assessment Instruments, Holland′s Model of Career Intervention, Strong Interest Inventory, Guidance and Career Counseling in Schools, Career Counseling for Midlife Transitions, Career Resources on the Web, Violence in the Workplace Volume 4: Cross-Cultural Counseling Acculturation, Cultural Identity, Counseling African-Americans, Counseling Hispanic Americans, Counseling Refugees, Counseling Sojourners and International Students, Cross-Cultural Counseling Competencies
Call Number: BF636.54 .E53 2008
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by
This two-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; 40 landmark case studies and experiments; over 30 primary source materials; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 800 articles -- 150 of those are entirely new and 650 are updated since the last edition. Each article ranges from 25 to 1, 500 words, covering the topics researchers want to know about, including: Advertising psychology, Alzheimers disease, Autism, Deep brain stimulation, Sigmund Freud, Meditation, Posttraumatic stress disorder (PSTD), Benjamin Spock, Sports psychology, Stanford Prison experiment, Test anxiety, Unconscious motivation, and Workplace violence. In addition to that there are more than 200 photographs, charts and graphs, students will also find Key Terms and Further reading sections, as well as an expanded glossary, an updated organizations appendix and an in-depth two-level index.
A Handbook on Counseling African American Women by
** WINNER of the the 2023 Association for Women in Psychology Distinguished Publication Award** Through an intersectional and inclusive lens, this book provides mental health professionals with a detailed overview of the mental health issues that Black women face as well as the best approach to culturally competent psychological practice with Black women. This text details mental health needs and treatment interventions for Black women. It provides a historical context of how the lived experiences of Black women contribute to mental wellness, identifies effective psychological practices in working with Black women, and challenges readers to advance their cultural competence while providing culturally affirming care to Black women. Additionally, this text is inclusive of sexual orientation and gender identity diversity, and it honors the diversity within Black women's identities, relationships, roles, and families. Written by an expert team of Black women clinicians, researchers, and medical professionals, A Handbook on Counseling African American Women: Psychological Symptoms, Treatments, and Case Studies addresses current sociopolitical events as well as historical trauma as it prepares readers to meet the needs of the Black women they serve.
Mental Health and Mental Disorders by
Serving as an indispensable resource for students and general-interest readers alike, this three-volume work provides a comprehensive view of mental health that covers both mental well-being and mental illness. A three-volume ready-reference encyclopedia, this up-to-date work supplies a holistic introduction to the fields of mental health and mental disorders that is written specifically for high school students and college students. Covering the full continuum of mental health, the set describes typical functioning, including biology and neurology of the brain, emotions, and the traits and characteristics of mental well-being. It also addresses mental disorders and conditions, from obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) to phobias and schizophrenia. Mental Health and Mental Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Conditions, Treatments, and Well-Being highlights important concepts and phenomena, key individuals, treatment techniques, organizations, and diagnostic tools to give readers a complete view of this broad field of study. It also investigates all sides of wellness, exploring what it means to be "normal" and consistently identifying the links between lifestyle and mental health. The encyclopedia is consistent with the goals of AP psychology curricula and addresses the various disorders classified in the new edition of the APA Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-V-TR).
Counseling LGBTI Clients by
Counseling LGBTI Clientsis a comprehensive, practical, easy-to-read guide for both emerging practitioners and current practitioners, LGBTI individuals, and those who know them. It combines theory, research and practice with a framework that focuses on challenging and changing beliefs and attitudes toward each LGBTI subgroup, gaining current knowledge about the subgroup, and empathetically developing skills to work effectively with the subgroup in a LGBTI-affirmative manner.
Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness by
Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness: An A to Z Guidelooks at recent reports that suggest an astonishing rise in mental illness and considers such questions as: Are there truly more mentally ill people now or are there just more people being diagnosed and treated? What are the roles of economics and the pharmacological industry in this controversy? At the core of what is going on with mental illness in America and around the world, the editors suggest, is cultural sociology: How differing cultures treat mental illness and, in turn, how mental health patients are affected by the culture. In this illuminating multidisciplinary reference, expert scholars explore the culture of mental illness from the non-clinical perspectives of sociology, history, psychology, epidemiology, economics, public health policy, and finally, the mental health patients themselves. Key themes includeCultural Comparisons of Mental Health Disorders; Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness Around the World; Economics; Epidemiology; Mental Health Practitioners; Non-Drug Treatments; Patient, the Psychiatry, and Psychology; Psychiatry and Space; Psychopharmacology; Public Policy; Social History; and Sociology. Key Features This two-volume A-Z work, available in both print and electronic formats, includes close to 400 articles by renowned experts in their respective fields. An Introduction, a thematic Reader's Guide, a Glossary, and a Resource Guide to Key Books, Journals, and Associations and their web sites enhance this invaluable reference. A chronology places the cultural sociology of mental illness in historical context. 150 photos bring concepts to life. The range and scope of this Encyclopedia is vivid testimony to the intellectual vitality of the field and will make a useful contribution to the next generation of sociological research on the cultural sociology of mental illness.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender is an innovative exploration of the intersection of gender and psychology--topics that resonate across disciplines and inform our everyday lives. This encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level, exploring topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood and throughout later life stages; the evolution of feminism and the men's movement; the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behavi∨ and more. With articles written by experts across a variety of disciplines, this encyclopedia delivers insights on the psychology of gender through the lens of developmental science, social science, clinical and counseling psychology, sociology, and more. This encyclopedia will provide librarians, students, and professionals with ready access to up-to-date information that informs some of today's key contemporary issues and debates. These are the sorts of questions we plan for this encyclopedia to address: What is gender nonconformity? What are some of the evolutionary sex differences between men and women? How does gender-based workplace harassment affect health outcomes? How are gender roles viewed in different cultures? What is third-wave feminism?
Publication Date: 2017-07-25Macmillan Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family by An Interdisciplinary Approach will examine a vast and intersecting array of subjects related to familial, romantic, and intimate connections in this follow-up to Macmillan's International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, published in 2003. This two-volume work, slated to release in 2019, will provide rich topics of study for students of sociology, anthropology, psychology, human development and family studies, social work, counseling, and more. Readers will find both overview and in-depth coverage across approximately 300 articles, covering such diverse topics as online dating, interfaith couples, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, gay and lesbian marriage, infertility, gender identity and roles, and many more. The Encyclopedia will include articles specific to ethnic groups and religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change. The academic board, charged with determining the contents, identifying authors, and providing peer review on this work, is led by Dr. James J. Ponzetti Jr., professor emeritus of Sociology, University of British Columbia.
Publication Date: 2019-08-30
