Need help right now?
Call the Booth Library Research Help Desk when the library is open: 217-581-6072
Chat with a librarian any time of the day or night*: 24/7 chat
*members of our 24/7 chat consortium, including Booth Librarians and beyond, staff this service.
Background information
To find an overview of a topic in Computer Science, reference resources are a great place to start.
Reference resources are things like encyclopedias or sourcebooks, which provide general information on a given topic in a concise format. Encyclopedia articles are often a few pages long and provide a list of recommended reading and resources for further study.
Search the Booth Library digital reference collection in the below box. See, for example, results for computer programming and machine learning.
Search for encyclopedia articles and other reference resources:
Also search SpringerLink for more reference resources in Computer Science.
A selection of reference resources for Computer Science are listed below. Use the SpringerLink and Gale Reference Books search links above to find more. Ask your Computer Science librarian, Kirstin Duffin, for assistance (contact information in the left-hand column of this page).
Principles of Computer Science by
Provides students with an overview of the fundamentals of computer science. Designed to provide users with a solid, easy-to-understand background to the key terms and subject matter of computer science, this volume introduces users to: Robotics Biometrics 3D Printing CPU Design Electronic Circuits Cryptography Software Internet Privacy Cloud Computing Digital Forensics Mobile Apps Computer Animation Programming ... and so much more.
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Database Systems by
* Enriches understanding of very large databases, data management, and database systems
* Updates readers through new and revised entries
* Treats both theoretical and practical aspects of database systems
* Provides for researchers, professors, graduate and undergraduate students, and industry professionals
* Sets the standard as a definitive reference work, edited and reviewed by leading experts
Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Science by
Topics for the Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Science include recent developments in Deep Learning, Learning and Logic, Data Mining, Applications, Text Mining, Statistical Learning, Reinforcement Learning, Pattern Mining, Graph Mining, Relational Mining, Evolutionary Computation, Information Theory, Behavior Cloning, and many others.
Publication Date: 2020
Principles of Mathematics by
Introduces the fundamentals of mathematics using easy-to-understand language, giving readers a solid start and deeper understanding of this complex subject. Entries provide an in-depth examination of the topic, and many include illustrations, models, equations, and sample problems. A wide variety of terms and concepts is covered in this volume, including: - Combinatorics - Differential Equations - Euclidian Geometry - Game Theory - Linear Algebra - Mathematical Physics - Number Theory - Probability and Statistics.
Publication Date: 2020
