It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computer Science: Home
Guide to library resources in computer science.
Browsing the stacks for comp sci books
To find computer science books within different subject areas, browse the shelves in Reference (3rd floor/main level) or in the book stacks (1st floor South, right side on the movable shelves) for these call numbers.
Newly arrived computer science books can be found under these call number ranges on the new book shelves adjacent to the Reference desk, 3rd floor.
Q 300-390 - Cybernetics; Artificial Intelligence
QA 75.5-76..575 - Computers; Computer Science (General)
QA 76.575 - Multimedia Systems
QA 76.58 - Parallel Processing
QA 76.59 - Mobile Computing
QA 76.625 - Internet Programming
QA 76.6-76.66- Computer Programming; Programming Languages
QA 76.73 .C153 - C++
QA 76.73 .P22-.P47- Perl
QA 76.75-76.76 - Computer Software
QA 76.76 - Operating Systems
QA 76.76 .C68 - Computer Viruses
QA 76.76 .H94 - HTML and Web Design
QA 76.76 .W56 - Windows
QA 76.8 - Specific Computers and Systems
QA 76.8 .M3-.M68...... Macintosh Computers
QA 76.87 - Neural Networks
QA 76.9 - Scientific Computing
QA 76.9 .A25 - Computer Security, Cryptography
QA 76.9 .A73 - Computer Systems Architecture
QA 76.9 .D3 - Database Management
QA 76.9 .H85 - Human-Computer Interaction; Virtual Reality
QA 76.9 .M65 - Computer Ethics, Morality
QA 166 - Graph Theory
QA 267-268.5 - Machine theory; Abstract Automata
T 57.62 - Modeling and Simulation
T 58.6 - Management Information Systems
TA 1630-1650 - Image Processing
TK 5105-5105.9 - Data Transmission; Computer Networks
TK 5105.8 - Internet, Web Browsers
TK 7885-7895 - Computer Engineering; Computer Hardware
Searching for books, videos, and more
SELECTED REFERENCE BOOKS
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction -
REF QA 76.9 .H85 2006 Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering -
REF QA 76.15 .W545 2009
For Biographical Information on Computer Scientists
Booth Library offers access to many computer science ebooks through Springerlink. Its large e-book collection covers a variety of topics, but with an emphasis on science and technology.
FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES
Booth Library offers several databases useful for finding articles in computer science. All databases are accessible from off campus as well; just log in with your EIU netID and password. Think about your topic in terms of keywords, which can either be connected by AND/OR/NOT.
If the PDF or HTML full text isn't linked, click on to see whether your article is available online or in print through another Booth Library source. More information about Get Full Text and examples of how it works are available at https://eiu.libguides.com/getfulltext.