Librarian
Citation style guides
Most style guides are concerned with captioning and crediting images used in papers, presentations, etc., as opposed to citing images as sources of information. Some image-relevant sections of selected style guides are listed below.
Image references generally include the following data, as applicable:
- Name of creator
- Title
- Date
- Medium
- Dimensions
- Collection/Repository and/or Location
- Source of image (publication or website information)
APA American Psychological Association
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2020
| 5.20-5.25 | Figures |
| 5.29 | Photographs |
| 7.07 | Reference example #53: Map retrieved online |
| 7.10 | Reference example #73: Photographs in archival collections |
Chicago / Turabian
| 1.39 | List of illustrations or tables |
| 1.73 | Credit lines for cover art |
| 1.107 | Illustrations in journal articles |
| 2.26-31 | Preparing illustrations and tables |
| 2.47 | Reproducing previously published illustrations |
| 2.65 | Editing illustrations and captions |
| 2.115 | Checking and proofreading illustrations and tables |
| 3 | Illustrations and tables (chapter) |
| 4.90 | Fair use: pictorial and graphic materials |
| 4.91 | Fair use: charts, tables, and graphs |
| 4.98-101 | Rights, permissions, and copyright administration: illustrations |
| 8.198-201 | Titles of works: works of art and exhibitions |
| 14.158 | Citing illustrations and tables |
| 14.235-37 | Notes and bibliography: artwork and illustrations |
| 16.116 | Indexing illustrations, tables, charts, and such |
| 1.38 | List of illustrations |
| 2.27 | Text references to illustrations |
| 3.3-3.45 | Illustrations |
| 4.83-4.84 | Fair use of pictorial and graphic materials |
| 4.94-4.97 | Rights, permissions, copyright for illustrations |
| 8.193-8.195 | Titles of works: works of art and exhibitions |
| 14.165 | Citing illustrations |
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations : Chicago Style for students and researchers by Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018
| 8.1-8.4 | Presenting Evidence in Tables and Figures |
| 17.8.1 | Source Citation, Notes-Bibliography Style: Artworks and Graphics |
| 19.8.1 | Source Citation, Author-Date Style: Artworks and Graphics |
| 26.3 | Style: Figures |
| A.2.3.1 | Format Requirements, Back Matter: Illustrations |
| A.3.1.4 | Paper Format, File Preparation: Illustrations |
Quick citation tools
- Citing images in Chicago styleLibrary of Congress, Getting Started with Primary Sources, citing primary sources in Chicago style, includes several image types including cartoons and illustrations, maps and charts and photographs.
CSE Council of Science Editors
Scientific Style and Format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers by Call Number: T11 .S386 2006 REFISBN: 097796650XPublication Date: 2006, 7th ed.
| 28.4.2.8 | Lists of Illustrations (Figures) and Tables |
| 30.2 | Figures |
Scientific Style and Format by Call Number: From I-Share librariesISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014, 8th ed.
MLA Modern Language Association
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603290241Publication Date: 2009-01-01
| 4.5 | Tables and illustrations (in the format of the research paper) |
| 5.6.2d | Citing non-print works (e.g., images) found on the web |
| 5.7.6 | Citing a work of visual art (physical object, or image found in print publications) |
| 5.7.8 | Citing a map or chart |
| 5.7.9 | Citing a cartoon or comic strip |
| 5.7.10 | Citing an advertisement |
| 5.7.18 | Citing a digital file |
- Citing images in MLA styleLibrary of Congress, Getting Started with Primary Sources, citing primary sources in MLA style, includes several image types like cartoons and illustrations, maps and charts, and photographs.
