Professor and Head of Research, Engagement and Scholarship
Reference resources, print and electronic
Booth Library provides access to many Art Reference books, all of which can be checked out.
There are many Fine Arts related electronic reference works which you may access. Search Gale -E-books for your fine arts topic of interest. As of Summer 2021, there are 200 items in the library catalog that match the search : Art encyclopedias.
Several major art reference resources are the dictionaries and encyclopedias that fall under the series title, Grove Art.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThousands of single and multi-volume encyclopedias and other reference works, across multiple disciplines | Find factual information and explore a variety of subjects | Searchable and browsable
Journal Articles
Use the following licensed library databases to identify scholarly journal articles relevant to the study of Art in all areas.
- Art Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind articles about art and art history | Covers 600+ periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations, and indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions | Styles, art movements, works by emerging artists | Fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly Journal Articles and Book Chapters | Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals and articles | Multi-disciplinary coverage | Includes literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, theater, cultural studies, education, philosophy, religion, political science, gender studies, social sciences, and more
Search for a journal title to find out which issues are available (in print or online). 
Or, browse the list of Art, Architecture & Applied Arts journals:
Books, Videos, and More
To find resources in our collection related to Art, search the EIU Online Catalog.
You can expand your search to nearly one hundred Illinois college and university Libraries by searching I-Share
And by searching WorldCat, you can find materials at libraries around the nation and the world, and request for them to be borrowed for you through the interlibrary loan service.
Handbooks/Guides to Writing Critically on Art
For resources on learning how to write critically about Art, search the I-Share Catalog for Art criticism Authorship or browse the shelves at N7476.
