Skip to main content

Art & Design: Home

Reference E-Sources

Booth library provides access to many Art Reference books, all of which can be checked out lke any circulating item. In addition, There are many Fine Arts Related electronic reference works which you may access. Search Gale -E-books for your fine arts topic in interest.   As of the date of this search, there are 104 items in the library catalog that match the search : Art encyclopedias.  

A primary  Art Reference resource is Oxford Art Online, also called Grove Art. 

Grove Art Online

One of the most comprehensive online references for all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day. Oxford Art Online provides the access point for Grove Art Online. Please LOGOUT when you finish a session so another user may access the database.

 

Journal Articles

Art Abstracts
 • bibliographic citations and summaries for journal articles published back to 1984 (some full-text, some peer-reviewed)
 • cross-searchable with other EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Complete and Humanities International Complete

JSTOR and Project Muse
 • full-text, scholarly, peer-reviewed

To find out which issues of a particular journal are available (in print or online) at Booth Library, search the Periodicals List by journal title.

Browse the list of Art, Architecture & Applied Arts e-journals.
 

Books, Videos, and More

EIU Online Catalog (Booth Library)

I-Share (other academic and research libraries in Illinois)

WorldCat (international database of library holdings)
 

Handbooks/Guides to Writing Critically on Art

Search the EIU Online Catalog for Art criticism--Authorship or browse the shelves at N7476.
 

Dean of Library Services

Zach Newell's picture
Zach Newell
Contact:
581-6061
Subjects:Art
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University Logo
facebookyoutubetwitterflickr
Connect with Booth Library
Booth Library, 600 Lincoln Avenue, Charleston, IL 61920
(217) 581-6072 | Ask A Librarian