LibGuides: AFR 1000G: Introduction to Africana Studies: Articles

Newspaper Articles

Booth Library provides access to several newspaper databases.
Listed below are examples of the library's current and historical newspaper databases

Chicago Tribune (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Full text and images for the Chicago Tribune | 1849-1997
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newspapers | US, Canadian, and International News | Current New York Times & Wall Street Journal | Newswires and News Blogs | Business, Political, Social, Entertainment Topics | 1980 to present.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles and scanned image page-views for this national newspaper | 1851-2019

Article databases relevant to Africana Studies research

Journal and magazine articles on Africana Studies be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password.

Listed below are useful databases for Africana Studies

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text article database with broad subject coverage | Area Studies | Ethnic & Multicultural Studies | General Sciences | Social Sciences | Law | Politics & Government | Women`s Studies | Popular Culture | Search Multiple Databases
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Non-Fiction Writings by Notable African Americans | Includes Previously Unpublished and Unreported Publications | Date Range from 1700-2006
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Topics: United States History | Pre-Colonial Era to Present | Canadian History
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for articles covering the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to present | World history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more | Indexes 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages, back to 1955
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly Journal Articles and Book Chapters | Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Online scholarly journals and articles | Multi-disciplinary coverage | Includes literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, theater, cultural studies, education, philosophy, religion, political science, gender studies, social sciences, and more
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Collection of 11 different African-American Newspapers in full text / PDF | The Christian Recorder, The Colored American, Frederick Douglass’ Paper, The Freedmen’s Record, Frederick Douglass Monthly, Freedom’s Journal, The National Era, The Negro Business League Herald, The North Star, Provincial Freeman | Weekly Advocate

AFR 1000G: Introduction to Africana Studies

Contact

Get library help

Newspaper Articles

Article databases relevant to Africana Studies research