Professor and Head of Research, Engagement and Scholarship
History Databases
Finding Articles
Journal and magazine articles may be found by searching the library's collection of databases. All databases are accessible from off campus by logging-in with your EIU netID and password.
- History DatabasesLists all databases relevant to doing research in History available at Booth Library
Two leading History databases
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowTopics: United States History | Pre-Colonial Era to Present | Canadian History
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles covering the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to present | World history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more | Indexes 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages, back to 1955
Other databases useful for History research
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowFull-text article database with broad subject coverage | Area Studies | Ethnic & Multicultural Studies | General Sciences | Social Sciences | Law | Politics & Government | Women`s Studies | Popular Culture | Search Multiple Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly Journal Articles and Book Chapters | Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals and articles | Multi-disciplinary coverage | Includes literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, theater, cultural studies, education, philosophy, religion, political science, gender studies, social sciences, and more
