Music

The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 as a non-profit organization to advance "research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship," a mission that has since evolved to include teaching and learning about music in addition to research.

Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of Black radio.

Music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture (AAAMC) at Indiana University.

The cello music collections at UNCG constitute the largest single holding of cello music-related materials in the world. Browseable, notated personal sheet music collections of cellists such as Bernard Greenhouse and Lev Aronson are viewable and downloadable in many cases.

Center for Black Music Research (CBMR) holds materials highlighting the role of black music in world culture with materials originating or representing black music in the United States, Africa, Europe, Latin America, and the Caribbean in a variety of formats: personal papers, scores, sheet music, audio-visual materials, photographs, books, periodicals, and commercial recordings.

Organization that promotes music teaching and learning, and provides information on conferences, assistantships, and music vacancies. 

The Contemporary Music Score Collection is published and provided by the UCLA Music Library. It is a searchable collection that includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.

This is an archival collection at the University of Colorado-Boulder. It contains music compositions by black women, collected by Helen Walker-Hill, author, pianist and musicologist

The international Music Score Library Project (IMSLP), also known as the Petrucci Music Library. Great resource for over 300,000 public domain music scores. Also includes some public domain recordings. 

The National Jukebox through the Library of Congress makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

A nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution that works to document "people's music", spoken word, instruction, and sounds from around the world. Preserves and produces recordings and other educational materials. Covers a wide variety of music, from jazz, American folk music, to Romani music.