Citing sources
Citing your sources
Always cite your sources! The style you use depends on what your professor requires. Many humanities disciplines use the MLA (Modern Language Association) style. Many social sciences disciplines use APA (American Psychological Association) style. There are many styles of citation available for publications. Below you will find links to guides for a variety of citation styles.
For a more detailed explanation of why it is important to provide attribution to the work of others, follow this link to the "Understanding Plagiarism" guide.
APA American Psychological Association
APA American Psychological Association
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2020
- Citing AI in APA styleProvides instructions and examples in how to attribute the use of generative Artificial Intelligence according to APA style guidelines.
APSA American Political Science Association
American Political Science Association style manual
ASA - American Sociological Association
ASA American Sociological Association
American Sociological Association style guide by Call Number: HM569 .A54 2010ISBN: 0912764317Publication Date: 2010This 4th edition of the best-selling ASA Style Guide has updated guidelines for preparing manuscripts for electronic submission, guidelines for electronic sources (with expanded examples),and an index. This edition also contains conventions internal to the ASA, and a checklist for submission of manuscripts to ASA journals. The ASA Style Guide aims to establish uniformity and consistency in style among ASA publications, to provide an authoritative reference source on style issues for authors who are writing for ASA journals, and to summarize basic issues on effective writing for authors in general.
CMoS Chicago Manual of Style
CMoS Chicago Manual of Style
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations : Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Turabian, et al. 9th edition, 2018
call number: LB2369 .T8 2018
Chicago Style guide from the OWL (Purdue University online writing lab)
EIU History department citation guide for History papers, part I, notes
EIU History department citation guide for History papers, part II, bibliography
- Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Chicago Manual of Style | 18th and 17th editions | Guide for citations, manuscript preparation, grammar, and language use | Browsable and searchable
- CMOS quick examples guideProvides Notes and Bibliography sample citations and Author-Date sample citations.
CSE Council of Science Editors Style
CSE - Council of Science Editors Style
Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors and publishers / Style manual committee, Council of Science Editors, 7th edition, 2006
call number: T11 .S386 2006
- Council of Science Editors (CSE) style examples2 page guide to citation examples in the CSE style
- CSE style guide from UNC LibrariesIncludes a citation builder
MLA Modern Language Association
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new windowFull text of the 9th edition (2021) of the MLA Handbook | Research paper writing tips | Guide for citing sources in MLA Style | Access also includes the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy (2nd ed., 2022) and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature
- Citing AI in MLA styleProvides instructions and examples in how to attribute the use of generative Artificial Intelligence according to MLA style guidelines.
The Reality and Solution of College Plagiarism (infographic)
The Reality and Solution of College Plagiarism
This graphic used courtesy of the University of Illinois at Chicago MA program in Health Informatics
