Searching Databases
Searching Databases
Booth library provides access to many different databases containing high-quality scholarly research for your use. Most of the research is accessible in full-text (the whole article) as either HTML or PDF format. Three multidisciplinary databases that are used across many humanities and social-science disciplines are Academic Search Complete, Project Muse and JSTOR. Below you will find links to tutorial videos on beginning research in these resources.
- Searching for articles in Project MUSE
How to do a search on Project MUSE. Video, 3:27. - Searching for articles in JSTOR
New to JSTOR search? This playlist of short videos gives you an overview of how to get started with our basic search and introduces you how to start with advanced searching. - Search EBSCO databases using the library articles tab
Learn to use the articles search to identify articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, limit them to relevant resources and retrieve the articles for free, even if EIU doesn't subscribe.
Link directly to these databases to start using your new strategic research skills!
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowFull-text article database with broad subject coverage | Area Studies | Ethnic & Multicultural Studies | General Sciences | Social Sciences | Law | Politics & Government | Women`s Studies | Popular Culture | Search Multiple Databases
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals and articles | Multi-disciplinary coverage | Includes literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, theater, cultural studies, education, philosophy, religion, political science, gender studies, social sciences, and more
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly Journal Articles and Book Chapters | Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
Google Scholar settings for EIU journals
Google Scholar settings for EIU journals
- Google Scholar settings for EIU journals
Lean how to set up Google Scholar's "library links" so you can always access EIU's journal subscriptions on or off campus. Video, 3:24 eiu.libguides.com/scholarsettings
