Librarian
Sources
Sources
Many historical queries can be answered using a few key sources. These include:
The Warbler (1919-present) Eastern's student-produced yearbook. Published in 1913 as The W'apper.
The Daily Eastern News (1915-present, under various titles) Student-produced newspaper.
Eastern Bulletins (1899-1967) Includes course descriptions, general information about the institution, and select research publications.
Eastern Alumni Association publications (1947-present) Includes The Eastern Alumnus (1947-1999), The Old Main Line (1985-2010), Eastern Illinois Alumni (2010-2014), and Forever EIU (2015- ).
|
Histories of Eastern |
Call number |
|
Coleman, Charles H., "Eastern Illinois State College - Fifty Years of Public Service" (1950). |
LB1861 .C425x |
| LB1861.C426x E5 | |
|
Eastern Illinois University Centennial: 1895-1995. Turner Pub. Co., 1995. |
LB1861.C4 E27x 1995 |
|
McKinney, Isabel. Mr. Lord; the Life and Words of Livingston C. Lord. University of Illinois Press, 1937. |
LB1861.C517 1899 M3 Also in Hathi Trust |
|
Johnson, Henry. The Other Side of Main Street: A History Teacher from Sauk Centre. Columbia University Press, 1943. Contains author's recollections of Livingston C. Lord, Eastern's first sitting president. |
LA2317.J6 A3 |
|
Winkleblack, Norma, "Buildings and Grounds of EIU (Historical Data)" (1994). |
LB1861.C45 E56 1994x Print copy at Research Help Desk |
| Histories of Charleston and Coles County | Call number | ||
|
Ladd, Marta Cates, and Constance Schneider. Kimball. History of Coles County, 1876-1976: Coles County, Illinois. Charleston and Mattoon Bicentennial Commission, 1976. |
F547.C6 H599x | ||
|
Shick, Nancy Easter., and Douglas K. Meyer. Pictorial Landscape History of Charleston, Illinois. Rardin Graphics, 1985. |
F549.C45 S35x | ||
|
Shick, Nancy Easter, et al. ’Round the Square: Life in Downtown Charleston, Illinois 1830-1998. Illustrated by Helen Dill Coontz, Easter-Chick Pub., 1999. |
|
Some additional items on the history of EIU can be found in The Keep. Another source for selected items is Digitized Archives Collections.
Archival materials at Booth Library are searchable through two primary interfaces: The Keep for digital materials and ArchiveSpace for physical materials. The University Archives, located in Room 1700, contains publications and records that have historical or research value pertaining to Eastern Illinois University, along with selected materials relating to the history of surrounding communities. Physical materials housed in University Archives are available to view by appointment only. To arrange an appointment, send an email to archives@eiu.edu.
Another source for materials on selected topics is EIU Facts on File. Browse the list to see what is available. Please email requests for contents of these files to archives@eiu.edu.
