Finding journal articles

For this assignment, you'll explore two science-focused article databases. Try searching them both!

Toggle between Biological & Agricultural Index Plus and Scopus, below, for more information.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Scopus

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus

Enter key words in the search boxes, as shown below. This is an example search.

You might also try using these search terms or other relevant terms that interest you:

alcohol AND physiological effects
heart rate AND daphnia
humans AND heart rate
heart beat AND humans AND physiology

Think about how you developed your hypothesis and use key words related to those ideas. Put each key word or phrase in a separate box to increase your results, as below:

Access the article

Use the Access link to pull up the full text article. If you see Access now (PDF) or Access now (Online full text), you will immediately be taken to the article. The Access options link -- "Access options" button -- may provide the PDF, Online full text, or Get Full Text. See instructions: Using "Get Full Text" to locate articles.

Scopus

Enter your search terms and click Search.

On the search results page, note the options to sort results (see image below). By default, results are sorted by the newest first--that is, documents published most recently are your top results. You may want to view the most relevant at the top of your results. Use the drop-down menu in the top-right of the results page to adjust your preference.

You will always need to use to locate full-text articles in Scopus. See instructions: Using "Get Full Text" to locate articles.