Reference Articles
Wanting to find basic information about GIS? Dive into the Encyclopedia of GIS.
Also, try searching our electronic reference collections via the Sage and Gale publisher options in the search box below. See results for the sample search on geographic information systems.
Books
Browse the call number G70.212 to find many books on GIS in Booth Library.
In the library catalog, the term geographic information systems will yield books on the topic.
Booth Library - Search for Books
Journal Articles
There are many ways GIS is applied across the disciplines. Choose from the list of subject databases below or see an A-Z list of all databases at Booth Library.
| Article Databases | |
|---|---|
| Biological Sciences (see also Scopus under Multidisciplinary) | Biological & Agricultural Index Plus |
| Business and Economics | Business Source Elite |
| Geosciences | GeoRef |
| Sociology | Social Sciences Abstracts |
| Technology | Applied Science & Technology |
| Multidisciplinary | Academic Search Complete |
| JSTOR | |
| Scopus |
Not sure where to begin? Choose Academic Search Complete and try keywords like:
| data mining | geospatial data |
| digital mapping | GIS |
| geodatabases | location-based services |
| geographic information science | mobile geographic information systems |
| geographic information systems | spatial analysis (geography) |
| geographical location codes | wireless geolocation systems |
Browse GIS-related journals, magazines, and news
Access courtesy of Booth Library
Applied GIS -- Contains articles covering specific applications of GIS, demonstrating the deployment of spatial sciences in a wide range of environmental and social science contexts. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
Cartography and Geographic Information Science -- The official publication of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
Geoinformatica -- This journal aims to promote the most innovative results coming from the research in the field of computer science applied to geographic information systems. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
GeoJournal -- An international journal devoted to all branches of spatially integrated social sciences and humanities. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
International Journal of Digital Earth -- Publishes articles on applications to improve human conditions, protect ecological services, and support future sustainable development for environmental, social, and economic conditions in connection with the Digital Earth initiative. Most recent 18 months not available. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
International Journal of Geographical Information Science -- Strives to provide a forum for the exchange of original ideas, techniques, approaches, techniques, approaches & experiences in the rapidly growing field of geographical information science. Most recent 18 months not available. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
Journal of Spatial Science -- Covers the theory and practice of the spatial sciences as well as practice and implementation of techniques related to cartography, geodesy, geographic information science, hydrography, photogrammetry, remote sensing or surveying. Most recent 18 months not available. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
Transactions in GIS -- An international journal that publishes original research articles, review articles, and short technical notes on the latest advances and best practices in the spatial sciences. Most recent 12 months not available. Includes peer-reviewed articles.
Available freely online
ArcWatch -- GIS news, views, and insights from Esri, a GIS company.
Directions Magazine -- Information about the latest industry developments and geospatial information technology.
GeoConnexion -- News and articles from geotechnology industries in the UK, Europe, Middles East, Africa, North America and Asia. Free access to all online news and articles, as well as the current issues of Geo: International and Geo UK.
GeoInformatics Magazine -- Provides coverage, analysis and commentary with respect to the international surveying, mapping and GIS industry. Subscription to digital magazine is free.
Geospatial World -- Provides insight and analysis of technology trends, applications and business dynamics of GIS, remote sensing, GNSS, Surveying & Mapping, BIM, LiDAR and several upcoming technologies.
Illinois GIS Notes: The Newsletter of the Illinois GIS Association -- Descriptive articles about GIS projects, applications, and activities from around the state, as well as Conference Papers, News, and Calendar of Events.
Sensors & Systems -- Serving organizations and individuals that measure, model and manage the natural world as well as those that design, develop and engineer today’s built infrastructure.
Scoop Geoprocessing -- News about geoprocessing.
Browse a selection of GIS-related books at Booth Library
Spatial Computing by
An accessible guide to the ideas and technologies underlying such applications as GPS, Google Maps, Pokemon Go, ride-sharing, driverless cars, and drone surveillance.Billions of people around the globe use various applications of spatial computing daily-by using a ride-sharing app, GPS, the e911 system, social media check-ins, even Pokemon Go. Scientists and researchers use spatial computing to track diseases, map the bottom of the oceans, chart the behavior of endangered species, and create election maps in real time. Drones and driverless cars use a variety of spatial computing technologies. Spatial computing works by understanding the physical world, knowing and communicating our relation to places in that world, and navigating through those places. It has changed our lives and infrastructures profoundly, marking a significant shift in how we make our way in the world. This volume in the MIT Essential Knowledge series explains the technologies and ideas behind spatial computing. The book offers accessible descriptions of GPS and location-based services, including the use of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and RFID for position determination out of satellite range; remote sensing, which uses satellite and aerial platforms to monitor such varied phenomena as global food production, the effects of climate change, and subsurface natural resources on other planets; geographic information systems (GIS), which store, analyze, and visualize spatial data; spatial databases, which store multiple forms of spatial data; and spatial statistics and spatial data science, used to analyze location-related data.
Call Number: G70.212 .S538 2019Publication Date: 2019
The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 1 by
Do more with your GIS and understand the foundation of spatial analysis: geographic patterns and relationships. A geographic information system (GIS) enables so much more than mapping. A GIS inherently enables spatial analysis that can give you a better understanding of your geographic data. GIS analysis reveals answers to questions like: Where is it? Where's the most and least? How much is where? What's inside? What's nearby? What's changed? But how do you get started? The second edition of The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 1 shows you how and more. With easier to read maps and text, The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 1, second edition, updates a classic text and teaches foundational spatial analysis patterns that provides geographic insights. Learn the basic concepts of spatial analysis and GIS. Build on that understanding with essential map-building skills to unveil and display patterns and relationships. The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 1, second edition, also includes a guide to online lessons that reinforce the concepts and demonstrate GIS application. Written for both new and experienced GIS users using an easy to follow format, the second edition of The Esri Guide to GIS Analysis, Volume 1 helps you build a foundation of the basic tasks needed to handle a wide range of analysis applications and prepares you for more advanced GIS skills.
Call Number: G70.212.M58 2020Publication Date: 2020
Python for ArcGIS by
This book introduces Python scripting for geographic information science (GIS) workflow optimization using ArcGIS. It builds essential programming skills for automating GIS analysis. Over 200 sample Python scripts and 175 classroom-tested exercises reinforce the learning objectives. Readers will learn to: * Write and run Python in the ArcGIS Python Window, the PythonWin IDE, and the PyScripter IDE * Work with Python syntax and data types * Call ArcToolbox tools, batch process GIS datasets, and manipulate map documents using the arcpy package * Read and modify proprietary and ASCII text GIS data * Parse HTML web pages and KML datasets * Create Web pages and fetch GIS data from Web sources. * Build user-interfaces with the native Python file dialog toolkit or the ArcGIS Script tools and PyToolboxes Python for ArcGIS is designed as a primary textbook for advanced-level students in GIS. Researchers, government specialists and professionals working in GIS will also find this book useful as a reference.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2015
QGIS and Generic Tools by
These four volumes present innovative thematic applications implemented using the open source software QGIS. These are applications that use remote sensing over continental surfaces. The volumes detail applications of remote sensing over continental surfaces, with a first one discussing applications for agriculture. A second one presents applications for forest, a third presents applications for the continental hydrology, and finally the last volume details applications for environment and risk issues.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2018
An Introduction to R for Spatial Analysis and Mapping by
This is a new edition of the accessible and student-friendly how to for anyone using R for the first time, for use in spatial statistical analysis, geocomputation and digital mapping. The authors, once again, take readers from 'zero to hero', updating the now standard text to further enable practical R applications in GIS, spatial analyses, spatial statistics, web-scraping and more. Revised and updated, each chapter includes: example data and commands to explore hands-on; scripts and coding to exemplify specific functionality; self-contained exercises for students to work through; embedded code within the descriptive text. The new edition includes detailed discussion of new and emerging packages within R like sf, ggplot, tmap, making it the go to introduction for all researchers collecting and using data with location attached. This is the introduction to the use of R for spatial statistical analysis, geocomputation, and GIS for all researchers - regardless of discipline - collecting and using data with location attached.
Call Number: QA276.45.R3 B78 2019Publication Date: 2019
Geographic Information: Organization, access, and use by
The history and future of geographic information (GI) in the context of big data creates new avenues of concern over its organization, access and use. In this book the authors explore both the background and present challenges facing the preservation of GI, focusing on the roles of librarians, archivists, data scientists, and other information professionals in the creation of GI records for its organization, access, and use.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2016
New Lines: Critical GIS and the trouble of the map by
New Lines takes the pulse of a society increasingly drawn to the power of the digital map, examining the conceptual and technical developments of the field of geographic information science as this work is refracted through a pervasive digital culture. Matthew W. Wilson draws together archival research on the birth of the digital map with a reconsideration of the critical turn in mapping and cartographic thought. Seeking to bridge a foundational divide within the discipline of geography--between cultural and human geographers and practitioners of Geographic Information Systems (GIS)--Wilson suggests that GIS practitioners may operate within a critical vacuum and may not fully contend with their placement within broader networks, the politics of mapping, the rise of the digital humanities, the activist possibilities of appropriating GIS technologies, and more. Employing the concept of the drawn and traced line, Wilson treads the theoretical terrain of Deleuze, Guattari, and Gunnar Olsson while grounding their thoughts with the hybrid impulse of the more-than-human thought of Donna Haraway. What results is a series of interventions--fractures in the lines directing everyday life--that provide the reader with an opportunity to consider the renewed urgency of forceful geographic representation. These five fractures are criticality, digitality, movement, attention, and quantification. New Lines examines their traces to find their potential and their necessity in the face of our frenetic digital life.
Call Number: G70.212 .W55 2017Publication Date: 2017
