French Language and Culture

Revised and newly Illustrated. Contains many outstanding illustrations of art and architecture.

Here for the first time is a comprehensive bilingual representation of French poetic achievement in the twentieth century, from the turn-of-the-century poetry of Guillaume Apollinaire to the high modernist art of Samuel Beckett to the contemporary verse of scourge Michel Houellebecq. Many of the English translations (on facing pages) are justly celebrated, composed by eminent figures such as T.S. Eliot, Wallace Stevens, and John Ashbery; many others are new and have been commissioned for this book.

This original dual-language short story collection features 15 newly translated works by important 20th-century authors. Previously unavailable in English versions, contents include "L'ami et la femme" by Irène Némirovsky, "Pleure, Pleure!" by Andrée Maillet, and tales by Simone Schwarz-Bart, Sailesh Ramchurn, Fred Kassak, Yann Means, Marc Villard, and others.

The 1990s witnessed an explosion in women's writing in France, with a particularly exciting new generation of writer's coming to the fore, such as Christine Angot, Marie Darrieussecq and Regine Detambel. Other authors such as Paule Constant, Sylvie Germain, Marie Redonnet and Leila Sebbar, who had begun publishing in the 1980s, claimed their mainstream status in the 1990s with new texts. The book provides an up-to-date introduction to an analysis of new women's writing in contemporary France, including both new writers of the 1990s and their more established counter-parts. The volume includes specialist bibliographies on each writer, incorporating English translations, major interviews, and key critical studies. Quotations are given in both French and English throughout.

Brian Nelson provides an overview of French literature - its themes and forms, traditions and transformations - from the Middle Ages to the present. Major writers, including Francophone authors writing from areas other than France, are discussed chronologically in the context of their times, to provide a sense of the development of the French literary tradition and the strengths of some of the most influential writers within it. The exploration of the work of important writers, including Villon, Racine, Molière, Voltaire, Balzac, Flaubert, Zola, Proust, Sartre and Beckett, highlights the richness and diversity of French literature.

This kit contains 1 teacher's guide, 3 DVDs, 1 poster, and 1 panda plush toy that are suitable for use with young children.

This kit contains 3 more DVDs for continued language learning.

Location: Ballenger Teachers Center Kits - 3000 Level North
The kit contains 4 DVDs, 2 CDs, and 4 booklets that are suitable for use with children aged 2 and up.