Streaming media resources

Curated free streaming collections

American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) Historic public broadcasting programs from across the U.S. https://americanarchive.org/

Archive.org (Internet Archive – Movies) Free access to classic films, videos, and public domain media. https://archive.org/details/movies

Art21 Contemporary art documentaries featuring artists and their processes. https://art21.org/

The Archaeology Channel Streaming videos on world archaeology, ancient cultures, and heritage preservation. https://www.archaeologychannel.org/video-guide

Black Film Archive Curated, historically significant Black films from 1915 to the present. https://blackfilmarchive.com/All-Movies

C-SPAN Video Library Recordings of U.S. government proceedings, hearings, and public affairs programs. https://www.c-span.org/

Illinois PBS Learning Media Educational videos, lesson plans, and classroom resources. https://illinois.pbslearningmedia.org/

Library of Congress – Moving Image Research Center Digital Collections Digitized films, newsreels, and historical footage. https://www.loc.gov/research-centers/moving-image/collections/digital-collections/

NOVA (PBS) Science documentaries covering technology, nature, and discoveries. https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/programs/

Open Vault (WGBH) Archival footage and interviews from WGBH public television. https://openvault.wgbh.org/

PBS Great Performances Performing arts programs including theater, opera, music, and dance. https://www.pbs.org/wnet/gperf/

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM) Collections Digital archives of Holocaust-related photographs, films, and documents. https://collections.ushmm.org/search/

YouTube – PBS Documentary Playlist Curated playlist of PBS documentaries available on YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLvahqwMqN4M0GRkZY8WkLZMb6Z-W7qbLA

Find movie clips for teaching

@MOVIECLIPS (YouTube channel) Rotten Tomatoes MOVIECLIPS is the largest collection of movie clips on the web. With 65m subscribers and 43k videos at this count, you are likely to find the iconic moments of your favorite movies to share and for educational use. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3gNmTGu-TTbFPpfSs5kNkg

Movies free to stream (with commercial breaks) 

Crackle A long-standing, free, ad-supported service offering movies, TV shows, and original content (note: operations are currently undergoing liquidation and availability may be limited). https://www.crackle.com/

Fandango at Home Offers a rotating selection of free ad-supported movies and TV shows (“Movies on Us”), alongside rental/purchase options on a platform formerly known as Vudu. https://athome.fandango.com/

Freevee Amazon’s ad-supported streaming service featuring on-demand movies, TV shows, and originals. https://www.amazon.com/adlp/freevee

Haystack News Free, personalized news platform offering local, national, and international news clips. http://haystack.tv/

Pluto TV Offers both live TV channel-style streaming and on-demand content across genres. https://pluto.tv/

Plex (Free Streaming) Includes ad-supported on-demand content and free live TV channels integrated into the Plex media ecosystem. https://www.plex.tv/watch-free/

Stirr U.S.-based FAST service offering live streaming channels and on-demand entertainment across mobile and smart platforms. https://stirr.com/

The Roku Channel Features an expansive library of free movies and TV shows, plus live channels—with no subscription required. https://therokuchannel.roku.com/

Tubi Provides thousands of movies and TV shows for free, with no subscription, purely ad-supported—widely accessible and user-friendly. https://tubi.tv/

Xumo Play Delivers a mix of live news, entertainment, sports, and on-demand video—completely free and ad-supported. https://www.xumo.tv/