Science and Math Librarian
Kirstin Duffin
she, her
Career Services at EIU
Career Services @ EIU offers a variety of career development services, including specific tools to help explore career options:
Having trouble deciding on a career and major? Don't know what to do with the major you have chosen?
Click here to review “What Can I Do with This Major?” an overview of majors & jobs associated with each major
Click here for more information about Career Services
Explore Career Options
O*NET OnLine, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor's Employment & Training Administration, offers a variety of options for your career search. One highlight of O*NET is the detailed breakdowns for each career field. Within the Health Science cluster, for example, you'll find over 100 distinct occupations listed, ranging from careers in diagnostic services (medical and clinical lab techs, radiologic techs, vet techs, etc.) to support services (endoscopy techs, pharmacy aides, phlebotomists, etc.) to therapeutic services (dentists, medical assistants, optometrists, registered nurses, etc.). Each occupation will provide a detailed analysis of tasks, skills, abilities, work styles and values, and much more.
My Next Move is an interactive tool for job seekers and students to learn more about their career options. The site has tasks, skills, salary information, and more for over 900 different careers. Find careers through keyword search; by browsing industries that employ different types of workers; or through the O*NET Interest Profiler, a tool that offers personalized career suggestions based on a person's interests and level of work experience.
Illinois Career Information System (CIS) is part of the intoCareers consortium and offers local, state and national labor market information for businesses, educators, government agencies, researchers, and students, including the Illinois Career Resource Network which provides career development tools for everyone from elementary school students to adult job seekers and second career seniors. Their goal is to produce the most up-to-date, reliable information to help make important life decisions. Illinois residents: login by entering your city or town and zip code.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Occupational Outlook Handbook profiles of hundreds of occupations describing What They Do, the Work Environment, How to Become One, Salaries and more.
Use the search box in the top-right of the page ("Search Handbook") to find information about a career that interests you. Alternatively, browse by Occupation Groups, such as Healthcare.
Books on careers in your major
Browse through the list of books below. Find more through a subject search on (Health or Medical) AND Vocational guidance.
Stanfield's Introduction to Health Professions by
Now in full color, the Seventh Edition of Stanfield's Introduction to Health Professions provides comprehensive coverage of all the major health professions. This valuable resource is designed for students who are interested in pursuing a health-related career but are still exploring and have not yet decided on a career. The Seventh Edition outlines more than 75 careers and touches on every major facet of the field including a description of the profession and typical work settings; educational, licensure, and certification requirements; salary and growth projections; and internet resources on educational programs.In addition, this text provides a thorough review of the U.S. healthcare delivery system, managed care, health care financing, reimbursement, insurance coverage, Medicare, Medicaid, and the impact of new technology on healthcare services. Information on career preparation and development is also included. All chapters are updated to reflect current demographics and new policies. Each section has also been thoroughly updated to reflect current training requirements, responsibilities, and salaries, as established in the 2016-2017 Occupational Outlook Handbook.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2017
Careers in Healthcare by
This title examines 22 branches or fields of study in healthcare and allied health: - Nursing - Dental Hygiene - Nuclear Medicine - Physical Therapy - Radiation Therapy - Speech Pathology - Respiratory Therapy - Athletic Training - Healthcare Information Management In addition, 22 corresponding occupational profiles highlight a particular career within that branch or field. All essays are written by authors with expertise in healthcare or allied health fields.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2014
Today's health professions : working together to provide quality care by
"Day in the Life" vignettes offer snapshots of a typical day for a working professional. "Aptitude Profile" highlights the characteristics of successful candidates in each profession. "Working Together" describes how healthcare professionals work in teams to provide patient-centered care. "Author Spotlight" shares the personal stories of successful professionals who discuss why they chose and love their careers. "Case Studies," based on real-life scenarios, encourage you to think critically about the challenges professionals encounter and the important role interprofessional collaboration plays in ensuring quality care for patients. "Career Exploration Activities," are podcasts that introduce you to twenty-one careers and then present a clinical scenario describing a challenge you're likely to encounter in that profession, followed by questions that you can print or email with your responses.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2016
Career Development for Health Professionals: Success in school & on the job by
Master the skills you need to succeed in the classroom and as a health care professional! Filled with tips and strategies, Career Development for Health Professionals, 4th Edition provides the skills required to achieve four important goals: 1) complete your educational program, 2) think like a health care professional, 3) find the right jobs, and 4) attain long-term career success. This edition includes a new chapter on professionalism and online activities challenging you to apply what you've learned. Written by respected educator Lee Haroun, this practical resource helps you maximize your potential and grow into a competent, caring, well-rounded member of the health care team. Self-paced format with interactive exercises, stop-and-think review, and end-of-chapter quizzes allows you to work through the text independently. Conversational, easy-to-read style helps you understand concepts and skills by delivering information in small, easily absorbed chunks. Chapter objectives and key terms at the beginning of each chapter preview the material to be learned while reading the chapter. UPDATED on-the-job strategies and Success Tips focus on professional certification exams, the use of social media, general job requirements, online classroom learning, employment laws, and necessary skills and National Health Care Skill Standards. Prescriptions for Success and Resume Building Blocks emphasize the importance of a resume and how it is a 'work in progress' from the first day of a student's education.Prescription for Success exercises let you apply what you've learned to on-the-job situations. Useful Spanish Phrases appendix provides a quick reference for translations that will prove valuable in today's workplace. Student resources on the Evolve companion website include activities providing a chance to use critical thinking skills and apply content to health care jobs. NEW Becoming a Professional chapter defines professionalism as it relates to health care occupations, emphasizes its importance, and presents examples of professionals in action. NEW! Full-color photos and illustrations bring concepts and health care skills to life. NEW case studies offer a real-life look into school, job-search, and on-the-job situations. NEW study and job-search strategies explain how to study for classes, job applications, resumes and resume trends, guidelines to preparing different types of resumes (print, scannable, plain text, and e-mail versions), protecting against job scams, online job searching, and preparing for the job interview. NEW reference chart on the inside front cover provides an outline to the book's content, making it easy to find the information you need.
Call Number: R690 .H377 2016Publication Date: 2016
Health and Fitness Professionals: A practical career guide by
Welcome to the allied health professions If you are interested in a career in the health and fitness field (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers six main areas of health and fitness that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Physical therapy -Occupational therapy -Recreational therapy -Exercise physiology -Massage therapy -Athletic training
Call Number: R697.A4 E53 2019Publication Date: 2019
101+ Careers in Public Health by
In just the past few years, interest in public health careers has soared. Public health degrees are more popular than ever, but what opportunities are out there once you've earned that MPH? And do you have to have a degree in public health to break into this field? This updated and revised second edition of 101+ Careers in Public Health provides an extensive overview of the numerous and diverse career options available and the many different roads to achieving them. It includes both familiar public health careers and emerging opportunities. New to the second edition are public health careers in the military, public health and aging, and careers in cutting-edge areas such as nanotechnology and public health genetics. Readers will learn about modern approaches to public health programs, including the evolving study of implementation science and the increased role of community participatory research. The second edition also presents expanded information on getting started in public health, including the increasingly popular field of global health. Included are descriptions of careers in disease prevention, environmental health, disaster preparedness, nutrition, education, public safety, and manymore. Whether you are a student who wants to launch a career or a professional looking to change careers, this guide offers a straightforward introduction to the public health field. It details the training, salary ranges, and degree requirements for each job and alerts readers to alternative pathways beyond the traditional MPH. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Public health careers in the military Public health and aging Expanded information on global health careers and how to get started in global health Careers in cutting-edge domains of public health, such as nanotechnology and public health genetics The evolving roles of implementation science and community participatory research MD or MPH? The differences between health care and public health KEY FEATURES: Includes a detailed guide to educational paths, options, and training requirements at the bachelor's, master's, and PhD levels Offers guidance on navigating the job market through both traditional and nontraditional pathways Provides tips on landing the job you want Includes interviews with public health professionals who offer details of their day-to-day lives on the job Helps job seekers just starting out and those interested in career change
Call Number: RA440.9 .S45 2016 and ebookPublication Date: 2016
101 Careers in Healthcare Management by
101 Careers in Healthcare Management, Second Edition continues to be the only comprehensive guide to careers in health administration, ranging from entry-level management positions to the most senior executive opportunities. The second edition has been updated throughout and includes three new chapters that will assist students and healthcare managers alike. Additional content includes a quick historical overview of the field including its growth and transformation, essential traits that will prepare a professional for career change and advancement, and a call for new leadership competencies which every job candidate should adopt and master in a rapidly adapting industry. The book includes more than 40 new interviews spanning those in entry-level positions to CEOs that reflect a greater diversity of careers and demographics in an evolving job market. Based on the most current data from the U.S. Department of Labor and professional societies in healthcare management, this guide describes careers in acute and long-term care, physician practices, international and government organizations, commercial insurance, consulting firms, executive search firms, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology, medical devices, public health organizations, information technology and informatics, and regulatory agencies. In each setting, experts explain job responsibilities, educational requirements, opportunities, and traditional and nontraditional career pathways. Authored by two senior and highly respected leaders in health administration education and written in clear, jargon-free text, the second edition, like its predecessor, is easy-to-navigate and now offers even more insider advice for students of healthcare management, career-changers, and those working in the field who are considering career advancement. NEW TO THIS EDITION: New chapters on A Brief History of Healthcare Management, Preparation and Professionalism, and Leadership Competencies for an Uncertain FutureOver 40 new interviews with healthcare managers who have changed careers or have advanced in their professional tracks
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2018
