Professor and Head of Research, Engagement and Scholarship
Welcome!
Booth Library has a large collection of information resources to support your research toward the Political Science MA option in Public Administration and Public Policy. These materials include online full-text databases, electronic journals, the reference collection (print and electronic), and the main book holdings. Journal articles and books from other libraries may be obtained using the library’s interlibrary loan (ILL) service.
These tutorials will help you use the library services for your research, including locating sources (books, articles, and online encyclopedia entries) and seeking assistance from library faculty.
Video Tutorials
Library Basics
These videos offer an introduction to Booth Library as well as instruction on how to access services and materials. Please review these items to better understand the basics of our library services and how to get things done!.
- Introduction to Library Services
A guide to Booth Library resources and services for online students at Eastern Illinois University.
Video 1:35 eiu.libguides.com/introvideo - Off Campus Access
A short video on accessing online library resources from off-campus
Video, 1:43. eiu.libguides.com/remoteaccess - Seeking Assistance
How to get help at Booth Library.
Video, 1:30. eiu.libguides.com/gethelp - Finding and retrieving books from EIU's Booth Library (the quick version)
Guide to searching Booth's library catalog, and finding the materials on the shelf. Video, 2:01 eiu.libguides.com/findabook - Finding Ebooks in EIU's library
How to find and access electronic books from EIU's library catalog.
Video, 2:45. eiu.libguides.com/findebook - Book Delivery
How to have books mailed to you when you live outside of Coles County.
Video, 1:54. eiu.libguides.com/delivery - How to use Interlibrary Loan
Learn how to request items not owned by Booth Library from Illinois, the United States, or around the world.
Video, 2:16. eiu.libguides.com/ill
What help is available?
Online students have access to all resources and services that the library provides, including:
- Research help is available by phone at 217-581-6072
- Ask a Librarian provides help via email and online chat
- Specialized research assistance is provided by Subject Librarians
- Your EIU NetID and password give you access to online articles, ebooks, and image databases
- Books can be mailed to your home at your request
- Articles can be emailed to you at your request
- A Continuing Education ID card or Panther Card is required to request books and articles from other libraries
- The Continuing Education ID card or Panther Card can be used to check or materials in person at other I-Share libraries.
