Why start with reference sources?
Reference resources are short, factual overviews of a topic and provide reliable information
- Get an overview of a new or complex topic
- Find authoritative information
- Find out the names of key actors or scholars in a given area
- Identify relevant terms that you can use in your research
- Help narrow (or broaden) your topic
- Find a bibliography of sources to help you start your research.
Online and Print Reference Works
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean by Call Number: F1406 .C36 1992ISBN: 9780521413220Publication Date: 1992-09-25The Encyclopedia examines issues like economic and population growth, trade and international debt, tourism and the environment, as well as the long-term factors that have moulded Latin America as we find it today: the native flora and fauna, the emergence of early civilisations in Mexico and Peru, imperial domination over three centuries by Spain and Portugal, the struggle for independence in the nineteenth century, and the political turbulence of the twentieth.
Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo-americana by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 8423945006Publication Date: 1907-1930full title:
Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo-americana :
etimologías sánscrito, hebreo, griego, latín, árabe, lenguas indígenas americanas, etc. : versiones de la mayoría de las voces en francés, italiano, inglés, alemán, portugués, catalán, esperanto. 70 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Call Number: Reference Room - E184 .A1 E584 2008ISBN: 9780028661162Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Latin America : A guide to the historical literature by Call Number: Z1601 .G75ISBN: 029270089XPublication Date: 1971-01-01A selective and annotated bibliography of books and articles on Latin American history including topics with historical dimension from archaeology to art. Organized by historical period and geographic region, it covers the pre-conquest through the twentieth century.
Latin America and the Caribbean : a critical guide to research resources by Call Number: Z1601 .L3225 1992ISBN: 0313264031Publication Date: 1992-05-12This volume is the first multidisciplinary guide to the study of Latin American studies to provide both broad coverage and substantial depth. It includes essays on research trends and approaches, provides entries on over 6,000 bibliographic and research sources, and selectively identifies specialized collections and resources in United States research libraries.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by Call Number: F1218.6 .O95 2001ISBN: 9780195108156Publication Date: 2001-06-07
