Librarian
About this guide
This guide includes two short videos that demonstrate:
- how to use the library catalog to search for books, and
- how to use the library databases to search for articles and use Get Full Text.
Get Full Text examples are also provided in the screenshots below.
Get Full Text
When you click on Get Full Text in your article database search results, there are a number of options that might display. Read about them below.
View online
Access the article using the provided link. If you are taken to the journal's website but not directly to the article, use the citation information to retrieve the article from the journal's website.
Look for open access
Some articles are available open access—that is, without needing to pay to gain access. Use the link provided to Look for Open Access Full Text.
If the article is not available open access, use the link to Request article via interlibrary loan. Interlibrary loan is a free service, with articles generally delivered by email in 3-5 days. Some requests take longer to retrieve.
1. Check Booth Library physical collection for holdings
Click on each location to see a detailed view of our holdings. This article was published in 2021. Booth Library physical holdings are from 1999-2004, so you would need to request this article through interlibrary loan (see #2). Items available in the Booth Library collection may be borrowed or used within the library.
or
2. Request article via interlibrary loan
If the article is not available at Booth Library, request it through interlibrary loan. This is a free service, with articles generally delivered by email in 3-5 days. Some requests take longer to retrieve.
Need help?
Reach out to your GEO librarian. Her contact information is in the left-hand column.
Need help right now?
Call Booth Library when Research Support is available: 217-581-6072
Chat with a librarian any time of the day or night*: 24/7 chat
*members of our 24/7 chat consortium, including Booth Librarians and beyond, staff this service.
