LibGuides: ENG 3300 Before and After Sherlock Holmes: Home

Finding Nineteenth Century Publications

For your Research Informed Paper 1 (document linked below) You will need to find primary research on the topic in which you are interested. That means you need to find information sources, books (or personal accounts within books), newspaper or magazine articles, that were published contemporaneously with the topic or events you are researching. The list of links below connect you to information resources made available by the EIU Library. These and other resources can be found in the A-Z list of databases, and are collected here for your convenience. You will need to explore multiple resources. No single search will bring you the perfect set of results.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture (Gale)
Topics: Arts in the Victorian Era | Playbills | Scripts | Scores | Popular Culture
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Series I: New Readerships & Series II: Empire (Gale)
Topics: Women's | Children's | Humour | Leisure/Sport | Travel and Anthropology | Economics | Missionary and Colonial
Gale Primary Sources
Cross search all Gale Primary Sources including: 19th Century British Theatre, Music, and Literature; 19th Century Women's Transnational Networks; 19th Century UK Periodicals; London Times Digital Archive; 19th Century US Newspapers
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (NCSE)
Includes: Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833) | Northern Star (1838-1852) | Leader (1850-1860) | English Woman's Journal (1858-1864) | Tomahawk (1867-1870) | Publishers' Circular (1880-1890) Use this link to browse by controlled vocabulary.
British Periodicals (Proquest)
British History and Culture, 1680s to 1930s
Times (London) Digital Archive)
Covers period from 1785-1985.
Old Bailey Online
The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Library Catalog
searches EIU's print and electronic library holdings.
I-Share catalog
Search the holdings of nearly 100 different Illinois academic libraries and have materials sent here for you to pick up.
Worldcat
Search for materials from libraries around the world.

English 3300 Before and After Sherlock Holmes, Research Informed Paper 1
This research assignment asks you to consider some topic of interest in the Victorian period that has arisen for you in your reading and thinking since the beginning of the semester.

Your research question should address the topic from two vantage points: the literary and the historical. The literary perspective requires analysis of the text; the historical dimension requires reading whatever story interests you in terms of its historical context, which for the purposes of this paper you will find in the newspaper and periodical databases.

NEED MORE HELP?

If you need more help, please stop by the Research Help Desk in person, call 217-581-6072, ask via chat or email, or set up an appointment.

ENG 3300 Before and After Sherlock Holmes

CITING YOUR SOURCES

Contact

Get library help

Finding Nineteenth Century Publications

NEED MORE HELP?