Professor and Head of Research, Engagement and Scholarship
Selected Books
Booth Library has a large collection of learning resources to support the study of Criminal Justice. The materials are held in the reference collection, the main book holdings, the journal collection, government documents, and the online full-text databases. In addition, Booth Library provides access to resources held at other facilities using the computer labs in the Reference Room and on the 4000 Level. Materials from other libraries may be obtained using interlibrary loan.
This is a subject guide to selected works on Criminal Justice and related resources held by Booth Library. The citations on this list represent only a small portion of the available Criminal Justice literature owned by the library. Further materials can be found by searching the Online Catalog and one of our many databases.
E-Reference and Subject Encyclopedias
E-Reference collections
Booth Library E-reference resources are good places to begin research in Criminal Justice. See the list below for examples.
- Sage Knowledge E-Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowSelected SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThousands of single and multi-volume encyclopedias and other reference works, across multiple disciplines | Find factual information and explore a variety of subjects | Searchable and browsable
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Criminology and Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowIn-depth scholarly articles from online handbooks | Research and current thinking on major Criminology & Criminal Justice topics | 17 ebooks in collection | Searchable and browsable by book and chapter
- Justice, Power and PoliticsA Book series from University of North Carolina Press.
About the series: "Tremendous historic political shifts in the United States, alongside trends in the historical scholarship, have noticeably increased lay as well as scholarly interest in the most contested periods in our nation’s past. Among scholars there has been a particularly marked interest in better understanding the ways in which people have fought for and defined “justice” in this country during the twentieth century, struggled for a greater voice in society (and thus greater power), and attempted to democratize access to politics."
https://uncpress.org/jpp/
E-reference books
Crime and Punishment in America by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781610699280Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Latinos and Criminal Justice by Call Number: REF HV6791 .L38 2016ISBN: 9780313356612Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Gambling in America by Call Number: REF GV1301 .T47 2001ISBN: 9781610699808Publication Date: 2015-02-10
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781452276168Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Encyclopedia of prisons & correctional facilities by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781412952514Publication Date: 2005
Violence Against Girls and Women by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781440803369Publication Date: 2013-08-27
Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781452274454Publication Date: 2013
Advancing Criminology and Criminal Justice Policy by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781317571995Publication Date: 2016
Criminal Justice Theory : Explaining the Nature and Behavior of Criminal Justice by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781315882024Publication Date: 2015
While there are many e-reference titles to choose from, there are even more available in print. Print encyclopedias are great starting points as well, and available in the Reference stacks for just about every subject area, including Criminal Justice. They are easy to discover using "encyclopedias" and "crime" (or a similar term like criminal or criminology) in the Booth Library catalog. As of this writing in 2021, there are more than 150 search results for the terms Encyclopedias and crime. Follow this link to see the dozens of subject encyclopedias shelved in the Reference collection on the third floor.
- Encyclopedias of Crimedozens of specialized encyclopedias focusing on various aspects of crime and criminology.
