General Constitutional Information
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780028648804Publication Date: 2000Contains original articles covering recent concepts (i.e. adoption, race, the Constitution, birthright citizenship) and court cases offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more). Also covers judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court.
Birth of the Bill of Rights; Encyclopedia of the Antifederalists / Jon L. Wakelyn | Ref E302.5 .W35 2004
The Constitutional Convention of 1787: a Comprehensive Encyclopedia of America’s Founding | Ref KF4510 .V55 2005
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution / edited by Leonard W. Levy and Kenneth L. Karst | Ref KF4548 .E53 2000
The Heritage Guide to the Constitution / editors Matthew Spalding, [et al.] | Ref KF4527 .H47 20050
The U.S. Constitution A to Z / Robert L. Maddex | Ref KF4548 .M33 2008
The Annotated Constitution
The Annotated U.S. Constitution and Declaration of Independence / edited by Jack N. Rakove | Ref KF4527 A.56 2009
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation / prepared by the Congressional Research Service, LOC / Kenneth R. Thomas, editor-in-chief, [et al.] | Ref KF4527 .U54 2013
Facts About the Supreme Court of the United States / Lisa Olson Paddock, Paul Brett | Ref KF 8742 .P32 1996
Call number ranges for shelf browsing
Browse these areas in the library for Constitution-related information.
Use the subject headings in conjunction with your search in the Library catalog.
Reference
- Law-U.S.
- Ref KF 4510 .V55 2005 --- Ref KF 4557 .V555 2010
Ballenger Teachers Center (for juvenile materials)
- Constitution & Administrative law
- General history-U.S. History
BTC 973 AN46 --- BTC 973.318 F24 - History
BTC E 178.3 H22 2005 bk.11 - History-America
BTC E 310 .C55 2002x - Political Inst. & Public Admin.
BTC JK 146 .S64 2004x --- BTC JK 274 .C59 2003 - Law-U.S.
BTC KF 4520 .S35 2003x --- BTC KF4550 .G67 2000x
BTC 342.73 B62 --- BTC 342.739 Sch 69
Book Stacks
- History
E 303 - Oversize E 302.5 .W5 (Oversize are a separate section on the South end of the 2000 level)
- Political Inst. & Public Admin.
JK 31 .D8 --- JK 271 .M77
- Law-U.S.
KF 4515 .C6 S3x --- KF 8742 .A45 H55 v.12
Government Documents
History-General
- Federal Document D 5.402:D35
- Special Aspects of Education--foreign language translations of the U.S. Constitution
Independent Commissions and Agencies
- Federal Document Y 3 .B47/2:2C76/9/992
Congressional Publications by Committee
- Federal Document Y 4.J 89/2:R 44/980
- Federal Document LC 42.2:C76/Swedish.MFICHE (refers to Microfiche)
Constitutional Bibliography
Constitution of the United States: Background, Analysis, and Bibliography / edited by Anthony V. Gribin | Ref KF4541 .A2 C576 2003
Journals
Journals related to Law, Politics, and U.S. Government
Browse a list of journals held in Booth library about Law, Politics, U. S. Government
Journals related to Constitutional Law
Browse a list of journals held in Booth library about Constitutional Law.
Current Constitutional Issues, examples of scholarly articles
Ablavsky, & Allread, W. T. (2023). WE THE (NATIVE) PEOPLE?: HOW INDIGENOUS PEOPLES DEBATED THE U.S. CONSTITUTION. Columbia Law Review, 123(2), 243–318.
May, & Daly, E. (2021). Can the U.S. Constitution Encompass a Right to a Stable Climate? (Yes, it Can.). UCLA Journal of Environmental Law & Policy, 39(1), 39–. https://doi.org/10.5070/L5391052535
Beckman, L. (2013). Democracy and Future Generations. Should the Unborn Have a Voice?. In: Merle, JC. (eds) Spheres of Global Justice. Springer, Dordrecht. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-007-5998-5_62 | Springerlink book chapter.
Best, Krueger, B. S., & Pearson-Merkowitz, S. (2012). Al Qaeda Versus Big Brother: Anxiety About Government Monitoring and Support for Domestic Counterterrorism Policies. Political Behavior, 34(4), 607–625. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11109-011-9177-6
- ‘We the People of the United States…’: The Matrix and the Realisation of Constitutional Sovereignty Duncanson, K. ‘We the People of the United States…’: The Matrix and the Realisation of Constitutional Sovereignty. Int J Semiot Law 24, 385–404 (2011). https://doi.org/10.1007/s11196-010-9173-x In its enunciation of “We the people,” the Constitution of the United States of America becomes a constitution of the flesh as it simultaneously invokes a constitution, a nation and a people. Correspondingly, its amendments as a list of rights pertaining to sex and race discrimination, and freedoms of bodily movement and action, assert the Constitution’s authority through the evocation of “natural” human bodies. In this article, I explore the way in which a sovereignty of the United States’ Constitution is realised in the particularlised bodies of its citizens.
- Journal article search focused on the U.S. ConstitutionDiscover Scholarly articles from hundreds of peer reviewed journals made accessible through Booth Library
Supreme Court Decisions
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 0028664116Publication Date: 2008Focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation.
Essential Supreme Court Decisions: Summaries of Leading Cases in U.S. Constitutional Law / John R. Vile | Ref KF4547.4 .V55 2010
Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions | Ref KF4548.5 O97 2009
Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions, and Developments | Ref KF8742 .S914 2012
Constitutional Amendments
Constitutional Amendments: Encyclopedia of the People, Procedures, Politics, and Primary Documents Relating to the 27 Amendments to the U.S. Constitution by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 1786843293Publication Date: 2017This reference work provides a complete examination of each of our nation's 27 Constitutional Amendments. Starting with the Bill of Right as a whole, each chapter includes a valuable collection of supportive material, such as biographies of individuals significant to the amendment's passage, reprints of actual political debates, newspaper articles, government reports, and Supreme Court cases.
Constitutional Amendments, 1789 to the Present / Kris E. Palmer
Ref 4557 .C65 2000
Constitutional Amendments: from Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning / Tom Pendergast, [et al.]
Ref KF4557 .P46 2001
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789- 2010 / John R. Vile
Ref KF4557 .V555 2003
The Constitution: selections from the Web
1. About America: How the United States is Governed —a GPO Electronic Federal Document from the U.S. Dept. of State, Bureau of International Information Programs, 2004
2. The American Constitution: A Documentary Record — from Yale University’s Law School Library. The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy. Includes a timeline of documents related to the creation of the U. S. Constitution
3. Constitution of the United States — The Constitution from the U.S. Senate website.
4. Constitution of the United States — from the National Archives: Amendments & Changes, FAQs, Founding Fathers, and more…
5. Constitution of the United States — from the Government Printing Office/GPO: Includes a detailed subject index to both the Constitution and the Amendments
6. Constitutional Law Center — Stanford Law School — Includes many full-text articles Constitutional law as well as court briefs, blogs, news articles, etc.
7. The Court and Constitutional Interpretation — Excerpt from Chief Justice Charles Evan Hughes, United States Supreme Court on the role and limits of the Supreme Court in judicial review.
8. National Constitution Center — Learn, debate, and explore the U.S. Constitution, online. Or, visit the museum devoted to “We the People,” if you happen to be in Philadelphia. (A great site for educators, too!)
9. United States Constitution —from the Library of Congress: Texts, commentaries, historical texts, influences and judicial decisions
Additional Resources
A Brilliant Solution: Inventing the American Constitution / by Carol Berkin | E303 .B47 2002
Creating the Constitution: the Convention of 1787 and the First Congress / Thornton Anderson | KF4541 .A88 1993
Democracy's Constitution: Claiming the Privileges of American Citizenship / John Denvir | KF4550 .D46 2001How Democratic is the American Constitution / Robert A. Dahl | KF4550 .D34 2001Lincoln's Constitution / Daniel Farber | E457.2 F216 2003Our Unsettled Constitution: a New Defense of Constitutionalism and Judicial Review / Louis Michael Seidman | KF4550 .S38 2001 Saying What the Law Is: the Constitution in the Supreme Court / Charles Fried | KF4550 .F728 2004Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2010 / John R. Vile | KF4557 .V555 2003 Encyclopedia of the American Constitution / edited by Leonard W. Levy and Kenneth L. Karst | KF4548 .E53 2000Essential Supreme Court Decisions: Summaries of Leading Cases in U.S. Constitutional Law / John R. Vile | KF4547.4 .V55 2010The Heritage Guide to the Constitution / editors Matthew Spalding, [et al.] | KF4527 .H47 2005Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions | KF4548.5 O97 2009State Constitutions of the United States / Robert L. Maddex | KF4530 .M33 2006 Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions, and Developments | KF8742 .S914 2012 The U.S. Constitution A to Z / Robert L. MaddexRef KF4548 .M33 2008
