LibGuides: CDS 2000: Introduction to researching the CDS Literature: Find Reference Resources

Getting started

Use this guide to navigate EIU Booth Library introductory resources for Communication Disorders & Sciences. Use the menu on the left-hand side of the page to navigate between pages.

Within this guide, learn how to locate and navigate:

Find reference resources

To find an overview of the language disorder that you are researching, books and reference resources are a great place to start.

Reference resources are things like encyclopedias or sourcebooks, which provide general information on a given topic in a concise format. Encyclopedia articles are often a few pages long and provide a list of references for further learning.

Four great reference resources for CDS are:

(1) The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Sciences and Disorders -- "...an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication - both normal and disordered - across the lifespan."

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders by Jack Damico and Martin J. Ball (editors) The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Sciences and Disorders is an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication - both normal and disordered - across the lifespan. This timely and unique set will look at the spectrum of communication disorders, from causation and prevention to testing and assessment; through rehabilitation, intervention, and education. Examples of the interdisciplinary reach of this encyclopedia: A strong focus on health issues, with topics such as Asperger's syndrome, fetal alcohol syndrome, anatomy of the human larynx, dementia, etc. Including core psychology and cognitive sciences topics, such as social development, stigma, language acquisition, self-help groups, memory, depression, memory, Behaviorism, and cognitive development Education is covered in topics such as cooperative learning, special education, classroom-based service delivery The editors have recruited top researchers and clinicians across multiple fields to contribute to approximately 640 signed entries across four volumes.
Publication Date: 2019

(2) Ear, Nose, and Throat Disorders Sourcebook -- "basic consumer health information about the causes, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases and disorders that affect the ears, nose, sinuses, throat, and voice..."

Ear, Nose, and Throat Disorders Sourcebook (4th edition) by James Chambers (Editor) Ear, Nose, and Throat Disorders Sourcebook (Fourth Edition) provides readers with updated health information concerning the causes, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases and disorders affecting the ears, nose, sinuses, throat, and voice. This includes ear infections, otosclerosis, cholesteatoma, hearing loss, ototoxicity, tinnitus, vertigo, Ménière's disease, perilymph fistula (PLF), deviated septum, sleep apnea, sore throat, tonsillitis, swallowing disorders, laryngeal cancer, and more. This book also includes a glossary of related terms and a directory of resources for further assistance and information.
Publication Date: 2024

(3) Communication Disabilities Sourcebook -- "basic health information about different types of communication disorders and their impact on personal, social, and economic well-being, recovery and rehabilitation techniques, tips for caregivers, and rights and benefits of people with communication disabilities."

Communication Disabilities Sourcebook (1st edition) by Angela L. Williams (editor)
Publication Date: 2020

AND

(4) Search the Booth Library electronic reference collection in the below box. Type in the name of the language disorder or condition you are researching, such as stuttering or cleft lip and palate.

Search for encyclopedia articles and other reference resources:

Alternative access to Gale Virtual Reference Library here.