Design Fundamentals 2D

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

Ad*Access - early 20th-century advertisements available via Duke University Libraries Digital Repository
CAMIO - OCLC's catalog of art museum images online
CARLI Digital Collections - includes images contributed by academic and research libraries in Illinois
​Digital Public Library of America (DPLA Images app)
Europeana Collections - images from European cultural heritage institutions
Flickr Commons - photography with no known copyright restrictions, from archives around the world
Google Arts & Culture
Library of Congress Digital Collections
LIFE Photo Archive
LUNA Commons - educational content from collections using Luna Imaging's Insight software
NYPL Digital Collections - includes images digitized by the New York Public Library
Saskia Art Images (CARLI) - access restricted to EIU and other consortium members
​Shared Shelf Commons - open repository of images from institutions using ARTstor's digital collections software
Wikimedia Commons: Free Media Resources

For images of works of art, also search museum websites.

IMAGE SEARCH ENGINES

Google Images
 •  tools on results page allow filtering by size, color, type, time, and usage rights
 •  four ways to search by image (reverse image search): drag and drop; upload an image; copy and paste the URL for an image; right-click an image on the web (with Chrome or Firefox extension)
 •  reverse image search on phone or tablet using the Chrome app for Android/iPhone/iPad - see Google Search help page for more information

Google Advanced Image Search
 •  results can be narrowed on the advanced search screen by image size, aspect ratio, color, image type, file type, usage rights, and other limiters
 •  NOTE: limiting size to 'Larger than 1024x768' (or even larger) increases the likelihood of finding high quality images

Creative Commons Search
 •  access gateway to searching Flickr, Google Images, Open Clip Art Library, and Pixabay for images that can be modified, adapted, or built upon and/or used for commercial purposes
 •  see also CC Search, a prototype facilitating simultaneous search across open archives of cultural works

TinEye Reverse Image Search
 •  upload an image or enter an image URL to find other instances of the same image online

TinEye Labs Multicolor Search
 •  find images by color