Article Databases

The resources below search through thousands of journal articles, book chapters, and other academic research. Unlike a web search, these research tools use subject headings to describe concepts. Each database includes a help link that explains special features within the tool.

Best Bets for Articles

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text and abstracts for over 1300 nursing and allied health journals | 1937 to present
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes MEDLINE | Topics | Biochemistry | Communication Disorders | Health Care | Medicine | Nursing | Nutrition | Pharmacology | Pre-Clinical Sciences | 1800s to Present

Additional Specialized Databases for Articles

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Citations and Abstracts | National Agricultural Library collections | Agriculture and Allied Disciplines | Agricultural Economics | Aquaculture and Fisheries | Animal and Veterinary Sciences | Botany | Entomology | Farming and Farming Systems | Forestry | Articles are available through the Get Full Text link | Primarily 1970 to Present
ERIC/EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Clearinghouse( ERIC) is the largest database for Education literature and research | Articles | Documents and Reports | Pre-K-12 Education | Postsecondary Education | Continuing Education | Special Education | ELL | Counseling | Gender & Education | Speech Disorders in Children
Contains ERIC Journals (EJ) and Eric Documents (ED)
PubAg This link opens in a new window
A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Recreation | Leisure Studies | Exercise Physiology | Sports Medicine | Coaching | Physical Fitness | Psychology of Sport | History of Sport | Sociology of Sport | Training Conditioning | Covers 1800 to Present
Sport Medicine and Education Index (formerly Physical Education index) This link opens in a new window
Physical Education Curricula | Sports Medicine | Dance | Sport Law | Kinesiology | Motor Learning | Recreation | Standardized Fitness Tests | Sports Equipment | Business and Marketing | Coaching and Training | Sport Sociology/Psychology | Some Figures and Tables Provided