United Nations Reference Resources
Reference resources can be found in both print and electronic format. Do not discount the print collections, especially if your research is historical in nature. Not all research has been converted to a digital format and many valuable resources may slip past if you ignore the print.
Below you will find a sampling of items available to you. Search the library catalog or browse the reference shelves to discover more.
Print - United Nations:
Historical Dictionary of the United Nations by Call Number: JX1976 .B395 1995ISBN: 9780810829923Publication Date: 1995-09-12
A chronology and fact book of the United Nations, 1941-1976 by Call Number: JX1977 .C48222 1976ISBN: 0379001896Publication Date: 1976
Encyclopedia of the United Nations by Call Number: KZ4968 .M66 2002ISBN: 0816044171Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements by Call Number: KZ4968 .O84 2003ISBN: 0415939208Publication Date: 2002-11-27
Great Debates at the United Nations by Call Number: KZ4968 .G67 2001ISBN: 0313313865Publication Date: 2001-03-30
Print - Human Rights
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by Call Number: JC571 .E673 2009ISBN: 9780195334029Publication Date: 2009-08-11
The Human Rights Encyclopedia by Call Number: JC571 .L523 2001ISBN: 0765680238Publication Date: 1999-11-30
World Human Rights Guide by Call Number: JC571 .H788 1992ISBN: 0195076745Publication Date: 1992-10-22
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations by Call Number: JC571 .G655 2017ISBN: 9781442276178Publication Date: 2016-12-19
- Human Rights in Historya bibliography of selected works in Booth Library supporting Human Rights Research
Print - Biography
The Nobel Peace Prize and the Laureates by Call Number: JZ5540 .A27 2001ISBN: 0881353884Publication Date: 2001-09-01
American National Biography by Call Number: REF CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21
Electronic Reference Resources
Below is a list of electronic reference resources that may be useful to your search. To explore these and other electronic reference resources click the "Reference Resources" link on the front page of the Booth Library website.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThousands of single and multi-volume encyclopedias and other reference works, across multiple disciplines | Find factual information and explore a variety of subjects | Searchable and browsable
- Sage Knowledge E-Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowSelected SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
- Wiley Online Library, eBooks platform This link opens in a new windowOver 3000 ebooks from Wiley from 2018 to date, across 60+ subject areas | May be used as course materials or for course reserves | Unlimited access through June 30, 2023
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements by Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780470674871Publication Date: 2014Comprehensive, authoritative, interdisciplinary, and up-to-date, The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements contains over 400 entries across three volumes, exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world. Covers a broad range of historical and modern topics reflecting significant social and political changes -from the French revolution, to the Chinese Communist Revolution, the global women's movement, to the Arab Spring, and from the American civil rights movement to contemporary environmentalism.
