Ottoman Empire
Most library resources on the Ottoman Empire will be found in the DR401-DR741 LC call number range that covers Turkey. Most titles specific to the Ottoman Empire are found in DR440-DR480 range covering the general history of Turkey. Keep in mind that a well-crafted thorough search is vital as resources may be found in other call number ranges. The list below is far from exhaustive and serves as an introduction to available sources on the Ottoman Empire.
The Decline and Fall of the Ottoman Empire by ISBN: 0871317540Publication Date: 1993-11-11An overview generalists will appreciate. DSBooklist
Arabs and Young Turks by
Arabs and Young Turks provides a detailed study of Arab politics in the late Ottoman Empire as viewed from the imperial capital in Istanbul. In an analytical narrative of the Young Turk period (1908-1918) historian Hasan Kayali discusses Arab concerns on the one hand and the policies of the Ottoman government toward the Arabs on the other. Kayali's novel use of documents from the Ottoman archives, as well as Arabic sources and Western and Central European documents, enables him to reassess conventional wisdom on this complex subject and to present an original appraisal of proto-nationalist ideologies as the longest-living Middle Eastern dynasty headed for collapse. He demonstrates the persistence and resilience of the supranational ideology of Islamism which overshadowed Arab and Turkish ethnic nationalism in this crucial transition period. Kayali's study reaches back to the nineteenth century and highlights both continuity and change in Arab-Turkish relations from the reign of Abdulhamid II to the constitutional period ushered in by the revolution of 1908. Arabs and Young Turks is essential for an understanding of contemporary issues such as Islamist politics and the continuing crises of nationalism in the Middle East.
Call Number: DS63.2.T8 K39 1997ISBN: 9780520204461Publication Date: 1997-09-03
Ottoman Empire and Islamic Tradition by Call Number: DR445 .I8ISBN: 9780394317182Publication Date: 1972-01-01
The Ottoman Empire by
In a concise and colourful style, Saraiya Faroqui lays out the history of one of the most powerful empires of the Late Middle Ages and Early Modern era. At its height, the Ottoman Empire spread over three continents and matched the size of the Roman Empire, covering the territories of modern day Turkey, Iraq, Kuwait, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and parts of Greece.This text traces the political history of the Ottomans from the 14th century to the dissolution of the empires after WWI, and it employs a balanced approach that encompasses economic, social, and cultural history. The result is a unique, colourful picture of the Ottoman empire that depicts soldiers such as Mehmed II the Conqueror and the janissary corps; the wars with Persia, Russia and Venice; court life in Istanbul, including patronage of the arts; the role of the sultan as defender of Sunni Islam; the tax system; agriculture and trade; life in the cities and the country; the relationship between Europe and the Ottoman Empire; the rise of nationalism; and upheaval during the 19th century.
Call Number: DR440 .F3713 2009ISBN: 9781558764484Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire by
Once stretching from Vienna in the north to Iraq and Yemen in the south, the Ottoman Empire has played an integral role in the history of Eurasia and the Middle East. The dynamics and complexity of the present-day Middle East and Balkans cannot be understood without an examination of the history of the Ottoman Empire that ruled these regions for centuries.""Encyclopedia of the Ottoman Empire"" provides a thorough overview of the history and civilization of the Ottomans, with approximately 450 A-to-Z entries focusing on major events, personalities, institutions, and terms. With signed articles by experts in the field, this comprehensive one-volume resource also includes essential information regarding imperialism and the emerging Balkan, Arab, and Turkish nationalism; the demise of the empire; and Ottoman legacy in the Balkans and the Middle East. Further readings, approximately 80 black-and-white photographs and maps, cross-references, a chronology, glossary, bibliography, and an index complement the text and give readers an in-depth understanding of the broad and fascinating history of the Ottoman Empire.
Call Number: DR486 .A375 2009ISBN: 9780816062591Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Shattering Empires by
The break-up of the Ottoman empire and the disintegration of the Russian empire were watershed events in modern history. The unravelling of these empires was both cause and consequence of World War I and resulted in the deaths of millions. It irrevocably changed the landscape of the Middle East and Eurasia and reverberates to this day in conflicts throughout the Caucasus and Middle East. Shattering Empires draws on extensive research in the Ottoman and Russian archives to tell the story of the rivalry and collapse of two great empires. Overturning accounts that portray their clash as one of conflicting nationalisms, this pioneering study argues that geopolitical competition and the emergence of a new global interstate order provide the key to understanding the course of history in the Ottoman-Russian borderlands in the twentieth century. It will appeal to those interested in Middle Eastern, Russian, and Eurasian history, international relations, ethnic conflict, and World War I.
Call Number: DR479.R9 R49 2011ISBN: 9780521195539Publication Date: 2011-01-27
The Ottoman Empire [2 Volumes] by
This two-volume reference provides university and high school students--and the general public--with a wealth of information on one of the most important empires the world has ever known. Arranged in topical sections, this two-volume encyclopedia will help students and general readers alike delve into the fascinating story of an empire that continues to influence the world despite having been dissolved almost 100 years ago. Detailed entries describe the people, careers, and major events that played a central role in the history of the Ottoman Empire, covering both internal developments in Ottoman society and the empire's relationship with the powerful forces that surrounded it. Readers and researchers will find information pertaining to archaeology, geography, art history, ethnology, sociology, economics, religion, philosophy, mysticism, science and medicine, international relations, and numerous other areas of study. Many of the entries are enriched with material from Turkish and Persian primary sources written by courtiers, authors, and historians who were present at the time of major military campaigns or other important events in Ottoman history. These and other annotated primary documents will give students the opportunity to analyze events and will promote critical thinking skills. The language used throughout is accessible and based on the assumption that the reader is not familiar with the long, rich, and complex history of the Ottoman state. Features approximately 180 entries that cover a wide variety of topics related to political, social, and culture aspects of Ottoman society Features numerous primary documents that add to the vividness of the portrayal of individuals and events Explores the many countries and numerous ethnic, linguistic, and cultural groups encompassed by the Ottoman Empire Shows how, for much of its history, Jews, Christians, and Muslims lived side by side in this vast realm Provides the only work of its kind written for university undergraduates, high school students, and the general public
Call Number: DR485 .K54 2017ISBN: 9781610693882Publication Date: 2017-06-15
Lords of the Horizons by
For six hundred years, the Ottoman Empire swelled and declined. Islamic, martial, civilized, and tolerant, it advanced in three centuries from the dusty foothills of Anatolia to rule on the Danube and the Nile; at its height, Indian rajahs and the kings of France beseeched the empire's aid. In its last three hundred years the empire seemed ready to collapse, a prodigy of survival and decay. In this dazzling evocation of the empire's power, Jason Goodwin explores how the Ottomans rose and how, against all odds, they lingered on. In doing so, he also offers a long look back to the origins of problems that plague present-day Kosovars and Serbs.
Call Number: DR486 .G66 2000ISBN: 9780805063424Publication Date: 2000-04-15
Empire of Salons : conquest and community in early modern Ottoman Lands by
A history of the Ottoman incorporation of Arab lands that shows how gentlemanly salons shaped culture, society, and governance Historians have typically linked Ottoman imperial cohesion in the sixteenth century to the bureaucracy or the sultan's court. In Empire of Salons, Helen Pfeifer points instead to a critical but overlooked factor: gentlemanly salons. Pfeifer demonstrates that salons--exclusive assemblies in which elite men displayed their knowledge and status--contributed as much as any formal institution to the empire's political stability. These key laboratories of Ottoman culture, society, and politics helped men to build relationships and exchange ideas across the far-flung Ottoman lands. Pfeifer shows that salons played a central role in Syria and Egypt's integration into the empire after the conquest of 1516-17. Pfeifer anchors her narrative in the life and network of the star scholar of sixteenth-century Damascus, Badr al-Din al-Ghazzi (d. 1577), and she reveals that Arab elites were more influential within the empire than previously recognized. Their local knowledge and scholarly expertise competed with, and occasionally even outshone, that of the most powerful officials from Istanbul. Ultimately, Ottoman culture of the era was forged collaboratively, by Arab and Turkophone actors alike. Drawing on a range of Arabic and Ottoman Turkish sources, Empire of Salons illustrates the extent to which magnificent gatherings of Ottoman gentlemen contributed to the culture and governance of empire.
Call Number: DR486 .P44 2022ISBN: 9780691195230Publication Date: 2022
