Reference Books
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.
- Reference databasesA list of all reference databases licensed by Booth Library.
Reference Books relevant to World War I
The Encyclopedia of American Military History by
From the first English settlements in North America to the present, the US military has evolved from poorly trained militia formations into the world's most powerful professional military establishment. During that time the nation has fought almost every type of war, from guerilla engagements to global conflicts. In many ways the US military reflects the society from which it evolved; in more recent years, especially, the military has also had an impact on civilian society. Understanding the history of America's wars and its military establishment can help us to understand ourselves and our world a bit better. Presented in three volumes, this encyclopedia is a comprehensive overview of American military history. More than 1200 entries cover military leaders, wars, campaigns, battles, events, famous soldiers, military branches, key technological developments, overviews of weapons systems and more. It covers the period of the colonial wars to the present, and gives special attention to the minorities and women who have contributed significantly to American military success.
Call Number: E181 .E63 2003 Holdings: v.1-v.3ISBN: 0816043558Publication Date: 2003
The European Powers in the First World War by
Focuses on a great watershed event : The First World War was one of the great watershed events of the 20th century, not only costing millions of live but also disrupting existing social order, precipitating dramatic changes in the methods of waging warfare, and teaching victors new lessons about the treatment of vanquished foes. Provides valuable perspective : Now a new reference work helps to put this momentous historical milestone in perspective. Designed as a companion to Garland's The United States in the First World War, this new encyclopedia concentrates on non-U.S. aspects of the conflict. Its more than 600 alphabetically arranged, detailed entries offer information and insights on such topics as the perceived and underlying causes of war, diplomatic efforts to stop the slaughter, the shortsighted and ultimately disastrous peace terms, and a host of other subjects vital to a full understanding of the events. The Encyclopedia covers all major campaigns and battles, surveys weapons and devices of war, and examines the roles played in the events by statesmen, politicians, religious and military leaders, and prominent citizens. Covers key participants and concerns: Also included are biographies of individuals profoundly affected by the war who played major roles in history, such as De Gaule, Hitler, appraisals of military medicine, infantry tactics, the use of artillery, naval blockades, and other subjects; and surveys of such diverse topics as art, literature, and music in the war, camouflage, censorship, propaganda, the creation of Yugoslavia, the Jewish Legion, codebreaking, women in the war, and much more. Each entry is followed by a bibliography for pursuing inquires in depth and a subject index provides easy access.
Call Number: D510 .E97 1996ISBN: 0815303998Publication Date: 1996
The Encyclopedia of World War I [5 Volumes] by
Featuring a wealth of new information and the work of acclaimed scholars from around the world, this monumental resource is the new standard reference on the 20th century's most influential conflict. The Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History treats its monumental subject with the scope and insight it deserves. Its lavishly illustrated volumes, produced by an international team of experts, offer a deeper, more richly researched presentation of the battles, campaigns, and weapons technologies of the Great War than any previous work. The encyclopedia also ranges well beyond the day-to-day battlefield struggles to capture the whole impact of the war, offering in-depth portraits of historic figures, everyday soldiers, and civilians on all home fronts. It provides the latest thinking from experts around the world on the war's buildup (the Anglo-German naval arms race), legacy (the Russian Revolution and Civil War, the Red Scare in the United States), and unresolved questions such as the ultimate responsibility for the war. With over 1,200 entries (over one million words), plus a volume of primary documents, The Encyclopedia of World War I is the definitive scholarly reference on a struggle whose aftershocks are still being felt. * 1,219 A-Z entries covering military culture and tactics for all engaged armies in unprecedented depth, describing important events (the sinking of the Lusitania, the Arab revolt), cultural and political figures (Ferdinand Foch, Wilfred Owen), geopolitical agreements (the covenant of the League of Nations), social issues (the role of religions), and much more * 175 contributors, including scholars from the United States, Britain, China, Japan, Australia, France, Germany, Austria, and Scandinavia, giving this encyclopedia an unprecedented global perspective * A separate primary source volume with 195 official documents, diary entries, and letters from all types of people involved in the war, with introductory information to place the documents in historical context * An opening section of 35 battle and locational maps providing the geographic context necessary to understand how the conflict moved and where and why the battlefield stalled * Insightful introductory essays that discuss the root causes of the war, the catalyzing events that lead to the outbreak of war, an overview of the war itself, and a discussion of the long-term impact of the war, providing context for the A-Z entries that follow * A list of comparative military ranks, glossary, historiography, and general bibliography, plus a comprehensive chronology providing researchers and readers with a sense of time and relationship between the major events of the conflict
Call Number: D510.E53 2005ISBN: 1851094202Publication Date: 2005-09-27
Examples of reference books
American National Biography by Call Number: REF CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21
Historical Dictionary of France by Call Number: REF DC35 .R39 2008ISBN: 9780810850958Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of American History by Call Number: REF E174 .E53 2003ISBN: 081604371XPublication Date: 2003-01-01
The Oxford Companion to Irish History by Call Number: REF DA912 .O94 2002ISBN: 019866270XPublication Date: 2002
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Civilizations by Call Number: REF G1033 .H39 2005xISBN: 0141014482Publication Date: 2005
