Dictionaries - Define Concepts
As you research new topics or read scholarly articles, you may come across words and concepts you don't understand. Use dictionaries to check spelling, word meanings, word history, usage, and define concepts. General dictionaries like the Oxford English Dictionary, will explain words in everyday use. Specialized subject dictionaries, like the Facts on File Dictionary of Earth Science, defines the words and concepts particular to the subject. Here are links to frequently used online dictionaries:
Oxford English Dictionary
English Words | Meaning | History | Pronunciation | Quotations
Facts on File Dictionary of Earth Science
Online Dictionary | Earth Science Terminology
Subject dictionaries can be used to look up specialized terminology
for example:
For a longer list of subject dictionaries in Booth colletions see thie RefNews post from January, 2016.
To find dictionaries, enter a subject followed by the word dictionaries, i.e. music dictionaries
Oxford English Dictionary
English Words | Meaning | History | Pronunciation | Quotations
Facts on File Dictionary of Earth Science
Online Dictionary | Earth Science Terminology
Subject dictionaries can be used to look up specialized terminology
for example:
 Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research Editors, Bethel Ann Powers and Thomas R. Knapp Call Number: Ref RT81.5 .P69 2006 or available online |
 The Postcolonial Studies Dictionary Editor: Pramad K. Nayar Call Number: PN56 P555 N38 2015 |
|
 A Dictionary of Geography Editor: Susan Mayhew Call Number: Ref G63 .M39 2009 |
 Key Terms in Literary Theory Mary Klages Call Number: PN44.5 .K58 2012 |
|
 The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management Editor: George Thomas Kurian Call Number: HD30.15 .K894 2013 |
 Dictionary of Media Studies Editor: Susan Mayhew Call Number: PN87.5 .D53 2006 |
For a longer list of subject dictionaries in Booth colletions see thie RefNews post from January, 2016.
To find dictionaries, enter a subject followed by the word dictionaries, i.e. music dictionaries
