Reference Books
Reference Books
Reference materials help students get started with their research by providing a brief overview of the subject. Types of reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and companions. Booth Library has reference materials in print and electronic formats.
- Reference databasesA list of all reference databases licensed by Booth Library.
Reference works for researching Ancient Persia
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by
For over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the mostup-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era. In over 6,700 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law,science, art, archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity.New entries supplement the existing material, including entries on topics such as Adrasteia, Latin anthologies, Jewish art, ancient religious beliefs, emotions, film, gender, kinship, and many more. Other specific developments include an added focus on two new areas: "anthropology" and "reception".All entries are written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated to ensure ease of use. Under the editorship of Simon Hornblower, Antony Spawforth, and Esther Eidinow, a huge range of contributors have revised and updated the text, which has made an alreadyoutstanding work even better.The Dictionary covers:1) politics, government, economy - from political figures to political systems, terms and practices, histories of major states and empires, economic theory, agriculture, artisans and industry, trade and markets2) religion and mythology - deities and mythological creatures, beliefs and rituals, sanctuaries and sacred buildings, astrology3) law and philosophy - from biographies of lawgivers and lawyers to legal terms and procedures, from major and minor philosophers to philosophical schools, terms, and concepts4) science and geography - scientists and specific theory and practice, doctors and medicine, climate and landscape, natural disasters, regions and islands, cities and settlements, communications5) languages, literature, art, and architecture - languages and dialects, writers and literary terms and genres, orators and rhetorical theory and practice, drama and performance, art, painters and sculptors, architects, buildings and materials6) archaeology and historical writing - amphorae and pottery, shipwrecks and cemeteries, historians, and Greek and Roman historiography7) military history - generals, arms and armour, famous battles, attitudes to warfare8) social history, sex, and gender - women and the family, kinship, peasants and slaves, attitudes to sexuality
Call Number: DE5 .O9 2012 REFISBN: 9780199545568Publication Date: 2012
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Civilizations by Call Number: REF G1033 .H39 2005xISBN: 0141014482Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World by
From science to religion, politics to mathematics, and art to medicine, there are very few areas of our modern lives that are not in some way affected by classical Greece. Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World provides interdisciplinary coverage of this influential civilization.
Call Number: DF16 .S23 1995 REFISBN: 0816023239Publication Date: 1995
Historical Dictionary of Iran by
Iran is a country with a deep and complex history. Over several thousand years, Iran has been the source of numerous creative contributions to the spiritual and literary world, and the site of many remarkable manifestations of material culture. The special place that Iran has come to hold in contemporary historical events, most recently as a center stage actor in the unfolding and interconnected drama of worldwide nuclear arms proliferation and terrorism, is all the more reason to explore the characters and personality of Iran and Iranians. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Iran is designed to give the reader a quick and understandable overview of specific events, movements, people, political and social groups, places, and trends. Through its extensive chronology, introduction, bibliography, appendixes, and more than double the number of cross-referenced dictionary entries as in the previous edition, the work allows for considerable exploration of a number of historical and contemporary topics and issues. In particular, the modern period, defined as 1800--present, is covered extensively.
Call Number: DS270 .L67 2007 REFISBN: 0810853302Publication Date: 2007
Examples of general reference books
American National Biography by Call Number: REF CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21
The Encyclopedia of World War II : A Political, Social, and Military History by Call Number: REF D740 .E516 2005ISBN: 9781576079997Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Historical Dictionary of France by Call Number: REF DC35 .R39 2008ISBN: 9780810850958Publication Date: 2008
The Oxford Companion to Irish History by Call Number: REF DA912 .O94 2002ISBN: 019866270XPublication Date: 2002
